Celestial Archon - Theros Spoiler

Celestial Archon


  • Color: White
  • Type: Enchantment Creature - Archon
  • Rarity: Rare
  • Set:

Bestow 5 ManaWhite ManaWhite Mana (If you cast this card for its bestow cost, it’s an Aura spell with enchant creature. It becomes a creature again if it’s not attached to a creature.)

Flying, first strike

Enchanted creature gets +4/+4 and has flying and first strike.



  • renfield286

    going to be interesting to see how this one works. I wonder if it follows the creature to the graveyard if it dies, or just falls off to become a critter in its own right.

    • lorescale

      It becomes a creature again if it’s not attached to a creature.

      • Reap7985

        me likey :3 kekeke

    • Bennyboy

      Read the card. What does the card say. I swear some people just can’t comprehend plain English…

      • renfield286

        Buddy, I’ve seen some Crappy rulings by judges on cards that have said one thing quite plainly but it’s been ruled as something else. don’t be pulling the RTFC line on me.

        • Bennyboy

          Buddy, read the card. English Motherf***r do you speak it??! lol

  • triven

    dat border

    • Berdo18

      Colored artifacts also had unique borders. i think the literately took mirrodin and said “lets replace every instance of ‘artifact’ with ‘enchament’ and call it a block.” possible a nice idea, but please make it less obvious, wizards.

      • Loiden Mc Leroy

        Sort of, but not much.

  • Lerg

    so if I verdict, they won’t get it back because it is a creature as well and would be destroyed by verdict right?

    • Joshua McTiernan

      No the aura would become unattached and turn into a creature.

    • David Fitzsimmons

      Because of the wording it appears it enters play AS an Aura with Enchant Creature, like every other Aura Enchant and thus is not vulnerable to any creature kills. ALSO if Wrath or verdict destroy the creature it is currently attached to, Wrath of God would have resolved before the card becomes a creature again so they can thus evade the effect in that way. It is similar to how a card like Knight Exemplar would be destroyed by Wrath effects but all the knights stay on the field because they were considered indestructible until she is destroyed first.

      I hope that completely answers your question

      • Lerg

        the thing that is troubling me is that it is still a creature as an aura (as it still has its supertypes of enchantment and creature) so shouldn’t I be able to kill it with say doom blade, and if that was not case not what If i sundering growth it and destroy it that way? Does its ability trigger making it a creature because it was unatached while sent to the grave?

        • Random

          It isn’t a creature when it is an aura. Notice the word ” it BECOMES a creature AGAIN”

        • David Fitzsimmons

          The Sundering Growth will kill it regardless of what it currently is, even if it’s ability was to become a creature without any enchantment type it would still die while attached in that way. Doom Blade has no effect while an Aura.

          As random already clarified, it is JUST an enchantment Aura while attached. no creature involved with it’s type until it is taken off.

          Personally the weak common rarity Bestows I am looking more forward to seeing. Because with the way it is with something big like this most opponents would go for the archon rather then who it is attached to. With weaker stuff I can have more fun with placing more of them on a creature so the opponent has that issue of trying to remove the bestows one at a time or handle all of them as creature after removing what they are attached to.

  • Zombie

    Ethereal Armor and Sphere of Safety are going to be so dumb when Theros is in Standard

    • Joshua McTiernan

      U are so right, ugh…..

    • Leonardo Duarte

      Don’t forget naturalize!

  • Berdo18

    I find it funny how wizards tries to make enchainments as broken as artifacts to counter balance artifacts as a deck type, yet is ultimately failing. They can’t really mess with lands to much, instants and sorceries are in all sets in huge amounts and planes walkers are “strictly mythic” so all they are let with for a competitor for artifacts is enchantments. It is especially humorous when we consider that artifacts already have an advantage because the average destroy artifact spell cost more than the average exile enchant. This is an interesting example of how they tried to make an awesome enchant, but it cost to much mana to see competitive play as an enchantment and not worth while as a creature.

    • Pethrax

      Not worth as a creature???? Da hell you smokin? SHARE!!! 5 mana for a 4/4 flying first strike is awesome. M11 had a 4 cost 2/3 with flying and first strike, M12 had peregrine Griffin, a 2/4 Flying First strike for 5, Silverclaw Griffin from Innistrad was only 3/2 for 5. Do you see what I am saying? WotC has given a few creatures flying and first strike, but usually not a whole lot of beef on them bones to use with it! And I can pay 2 more to juke that freaking annoying Supreme Verdict or how many other removal spells by using it as an enchant in an enchant rewarding block? This is a great guy, and no, enchants dont compete with artifacts, they overrun them. Dual Greater Auramancy plus Enchanted Evening, your field is safe from anything other than a total board wipe, which sets you up the same as them.

    • David T.

      It’s an upgraded Serra Angel, how is it not worth while as a creature? You silly.

  • pd

    hehe, when celestial archon uses its bestow abilityit it yells to its host I WANT YOU INSIDE ME!

    • Bennyboy

      HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! EPIC! LOVE IT!!

  • Metal Peddler

    I think the BESTOW could work quite well with AJANI’S CHOSEN.

  • guest

    Sundering growth.nuff said.

    • Zombie

      AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAND Negate.

      Because who doesn’t love the ol’ Onslaught block throwback of UW Fatty control.

  • juan

    what happen to the archon if the creature it would enchant dies??

    • busterswrd

      same as with all other enchantments when they are enchanted to a creature and it dies

      • Tibison

        It becomes a creature with 4/4 flying and first strike, that’s the point

  • CodyGozRawr

    For 5 you get a 4/4 flying first strike, that’s not bad, or for 7 enchanted creature gets +4/+4 flying and first strike, ehh should be bestow 4WW in my opinion.