• Gord

    I think this will be a good draft card for this set. Just looking at what they’ve already shown us as blink targets. There seems like there is a good chance that blinking will be something the draft wants to do.

    • Tolle

      this is unearth would be fun in limited…

      • Hedronal

        “Unearth 1Black (1Black: Return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step or if it would leave the battlefield. Unearth only as a sorcery.)”

        “or if it would leave the battlefield”

        • Tolle

          Yes. But since dead-eye exiles the card itself the unearth affect checks to see if it is being exiled. It is and so doesn’t care. Then dead-eye brings him back with no memory of his past life so without the downside of unearth

          • Hedronal

            No, actually. Where something would be exiled with Deadeye’s ability, and thus able to return, it’s replaced with being exiled from unearth. Which effect gets to exile it matters.

          • Tolle

            That is not how that works. Something can’t replace something with itself. And if you still don’t believe me from Sidri’s gatherer page.

            “If a creature returned to the battlefield with unearth would leave the battlefield for any reason, it’s exiled instead — unless the spell or ability that’s causing the creature to leave the battlefield is actually trying to exile it! In that case, it succeeds at exiling it. If it later returns the creature card to the battlefield (as Oblivion Ring or Flickerwisp might, for example), the creature card will return to the battlefield as a new object with no relation to its previous existence. The unearth effect will no longer apply to it.”

            Essentially what will happen is when the creature goes to be removed from the battlefield the replacement effect will check to see how. If it sees it is being exiled it won’t do anything.

          • Hedronal

            The gatherer page for what card name? A search for “sidri” turns up nothing.

          • Tolle

            I apologize, typo. “Sedris, the traitor king.” The grixis commander who gives all creatures in your graveyard unearth for 2B.

          • Hedronal

            That is so weird.. and something I’d never believe without official confirmation. Thanks.

          • Tolle

            No problem, it is why I am here. Please, if you see I’m wrong let me know. I am the closest thing my group has to a judge so the more I know the better.

          • Tolle

            Actually, I’m curious. From where did you get your argument? Is there a card interaction in which that happens?

          • Hedronal

            Not from an interaction, but treating one exile the same as another is just not at all what that is worded like. It makes no intuitive sense to me, the way that does is unearth replacing all other leaving the battlefield, not just “if it would leave the battlefield but not be exiled”.

          • Tolle

            Ah, well replacement effects always check to see what is happening and only go to replace them if they are doing something different than that replacement affect wants to happen.

            Fun fact, in commander, if your commander gets exiled and you redirect it to the command zone and it goes to get pulled back later (like through o-ring or Mistmeadow Witch) it still will come back because the game sees it go to the command zone and so knows it can find it.

          • Hedronal

            The part that makes iffy sense at best is just looking at the current status, being exiled or not, rather than what did it.

            Can you provide the rules section that confirms that interaction? Also what if a commander is o-ringed to the command zone, cast, and then back in the zone?

  • Luminous_leper

    Can this card leave the battlefield after combat damage is assigned but not resolved (he would deal damage but not take any because it left battlefield? Also, I’m assuming he can partner with a different creature each time it enters the battlefield?