• Dave

    Great art! Fun ability!

  • Sebastian Fuchs

    very good card but im not sure how the effect work with attack trigger like anihilator ^^*

    • Deadly Berry

      Anihilator says “defending player” so I’d suppose that once it triggers it will force to sacrifice whoever is the recipient of the attack; so basically this little mage can screw someone good.

      • Necrachilles

        Actually this is a very good question and the answer may be that simple but pretty sure since annihilator says “When this creature attacks” the trigger would be put on to sac for that original targeted player (since they were the defending player). When you redirect the attack it’s not declaring the attack again.

        But as you said, it does say defending player so it’s possible that it checks the defending player as part of resolving.

        Going to be interesting to see for sure.

        • Necrachilles

          I really want say that Deadly Berry is right and that it will check upon resolution (and not fizzle)

          • Giby86 .

            I’m going to put my money on that scenario.Player A goes to declare attackers, attacks player B with Old Ulamog, annihilator trigger goes to the stack but doesn’t target anyone, it’s just set on the “defending player”, which currently is player B. Player B then plays this dude, and turns Ulamog against player C while the annihilator trigger is still on the stack. It resolves, it checks who the “defending player” is, and it’s no longer player B, but player C, who has to sacrifice four things AND block Ulamog.

          • Tolle

            The answer is whoever the person first attacked. According to rule 802.2a “the defending player it’s referring to is the player that creature was attacking at the time it became an attacking creature that combat.” Therefor this doesn’t screw around with annihilator, you still have to sac the permanents.

          • Giby86 .

            Ah, there you go. Thanks!

          • Dave

            Apparently this is getting a rules change (as can be read here http://www.cranialinsertionDOTcom/article/2415 ).
            The trigger will affect whichever player is the defending player when the trigger resolves.

          • Owen Hearder

            Rule 802.2a was changed with the release of commander 2017. So this is no longer the case! See the updated rules http://media.wizards.com/2017/downloads/MagicCompRules%2020170825.pdf rule 802.2a. It basically says the defending player is now the player the creature is currently attacking, not the player it first attacked. So now it will be the new defending player who sacrifices the permanents.

          • Tolle

            Oh, thank you. I did not see that. It is good they made the change, it is more intuitive. Where did you see that though? I didn’t see any announcements of rules changes.

          • Owen Hearder

            A little bit of a fluke. Basically I was searching online for an answer, came across an answer which quoted the rule 802.2a and then compared it to the individual ruling on portal mage regarding targeting a defending players permanent. There was an inconsistency in the rules as stated, so I decided to look at the source of rule 802.2a and noticed it was different to the one quoted. I think they do give announcements about rule changes with the release of new sets/products, but they’re usually unimportant. They must’ve thought this rule change wasn’t huge enough to warrant a mainstream announcement.

          • Tolle

            That is still annoying they didn’t announce it. Well, thank you for sharing!

        • Dave

          Hmm, but Annihilator doesn’t target, it just says “defending player”. Could work either way, I vote in favor of redirection. We’ll see when the notes are released.

        • Koover_rob

          Gate mage needs to enter during declare attackers step, that’s not when creatures actually attack yet.
          So you reselect the target, then the creature attacks, then annihilator is put on the stack.

          • Tolle

            Koover that isn’t at all how that works. You declare attackers in the declare attacker step before anyone gets priority to do anything. So a creature with annihilator will already be attacking someone before you get to pull off this little trick.

    • Tolle

      To answer your question: According to rule
      802.2a “the defending player it’s referring to is the player that
      creature was attacking at the time it became an attacking creature that
      combat.” Therefor this doesn’t screw around with annihilator, you still
      have to sac the permanents.

  • Koover_rob

    Awesome, now I can yell “Yeah I’m the threat at this table!” when being attacked and actually can do something about it (whether it’s sarcastic or not :D).

  • DJ Pad

    Can this card make a creature attack it’s own controller?

    • Koover_rob

      Probably not, there ‘s a reminder text and I’m pretty sure it denies exactly that option :)

      • Tolle

        I don’t know what the reminder text says but probably that as it is NEVER possible to attack yourself or a planeswalker you control.