• kasigah

    It’s weird to see this already, considering we don’t have the front yet

  • Bige Boiy

    unfortunate that it’s not a colorless land based on card number, i would love to fit this in all my edh decks. here’s to hoping it’s front half is a legendary creature :)

  • Jaime Hubster

    As long as it doesn’t come into play tapped I’m loving this card. However, I’m betting it not only comes into play tapped but also makes you sac other lands to transform it.

    • Konan

      If it came into play tapped, haste would serve no purpose would it?
      I doubt they would give a card a useless mechanic.

      • Minizem

        Well, this is wizards…

  • Deadly Berry

    Judging by the small Emrakul-like icon where usually the “Day/Night” icon is, I suppose some objects will “transform” from normal things to Eldrazi horrors (it’s not an horror I know, but it should be!); Emrakul must have something to do with it lore-wise. It’ll be interesting to see what other kind of permanents (or spells maybe?) become corrupted by Emrakul.

  • Nebulium

    130… maybe black or red? Reminds me of grave titan, especially thematically.

  • larryand corn

    its a land i bet

    • MTG fan

      Lands have no color and this is classified as a white card. Not a land, probably a defender

      • Stephan Kenzel

        It could still be a land – the backside can have another color identity as the front side. Look at Avacyn for instance, or am I completely wrong?
        Additionally the classification on this site is not necessarilly correct^^

        • Trevor Terry

          Forget Avacyn, look at Westvale Abbey.

          • Stephan Kenzel

            Yep, right.
            Forgot that Ormendahl is black^^

        • MTG fan

          Lands aren’t usually the cards added in the middle of the set…
          Also, Avacyn is white on the first side which is correct. However, she is also red on the back side, but the site explicitly states her as a white card because that is what she is at first. Also, this is the backside of the card or am I completely wrong?^^
          Edit: #130 in the set. Still think it’s a land? Also classified by front side like Avacyn.

  • Nolly

    I hope the other side of this card is a legendary enchantment.
    double sided legendary enchantment eldrazi
    I shall call it Zendikawastrad

  • Sky Potato

    Why would this be white (Wish it was a land nooo!)? Collector number 130 doesn’t make sense with a land, but it doesn’t make sense as white either… What on earth is the front side of this card? Oliver Hayfield maybe?

    • Rœkja

      Maybe it is a mistake? Perhaps when updating the site they accidentally misidentified the card frame.

    • TacoBellHero

      130 in this set numbers, is red…

  • Dr. Burn Crow

    I hope this is a creature on its other side, so I can make this the commander of my big, stupid commander deck of oozy Eldrazi nougatty goodness.

  • vicho

    if its a land or an enchantment it will not enter tapped nor it will require to tap the card ,because this side has haste.I mean it could be kind of stupid to have something tapped with haste

  • Rœkja

    I’m guessing the front side will be something along the lines of Villagers of Estwald, representing the townsfolk as a collective.

  • Phoenix UNBENCHED

    Legendary. Eldrazi. Ooze. Town.
    wat

    • Chaospyke

      If town was a creature type…

      I feel as though Wizards missed an amazing opportunity here

      • Bige Boiy

        it would have made eldrazi townsfolk :)

  • Melissa Juice

    God, this block is brilliant.

    Praise Juiblex.

  • Panda-s1

    why is this card listed as white? we know it’s the other side of a two sided card, it’s an eldrazi, and there’s no color indicator, clearly this side is colorless

    • Vixin Xiviir

      The original side is likely white- and the cards are organized by their first side.

      • Robert Zacek

        The card can not be a land on the other side due to collector numbering. With a collector number of 130 odds are its red on the other side. And there of have been three cards with hanweir and two were red

    • Irong

      i would say it is the back side and is a colourless card not white as well. As in the type line it is missing the dot that indicates the colour identity of the face of the card. In shadow of innistrad this was only missing when the cards was an artifact so colourless.

      • Panda-s1

        it’s been confirmed this is the other side of a two-faced card already (not to mention the squid in the corner as well as the state of the town itself suggests this creature changed).

        • Irong

          hi sorry for the confusion just agreeing that this card should not be listed as white and used the example of artifacts as a the current colourless cart type that has been printed with a 2 face card from the shadow of innistrad as a example of why.

  • MTGFanatic

    I’m guessing the backside is a Land card

    • Robert FakeLastName

      gavony perhaps?

    • Hedronal

      *frontside

  • Lokhan Ren

    Maybe this is Westvale abbey’s cousin who got turned into an eldrazi

  • Vizzerdrix

    i think im starting to be ok with the eldrazi coming back, my only thing that would really make me truly ok with it is that the plane return to some extent back to normal, seeing how bad zendikar got screwed by the eldrazi to the point of not even being close to original zendikar i really hope innistrad can be a place we could go back to, to see some really nice tribal synergy and what not also that being said can we go to lorwyn?

    • TheFullMontzy

      Going back to lorwyn would be awesome, but to my knowledge, lorwyn doesn’t realy exist as I assume you would want it to. It is still stuck as shadowmoor unless major events have happened while we were on other planes.

      • Hedronal

        Set 1 proposal: Return to Shadowmoor and cast two spells during my turn. Shadowmoor returns to its front face, Lorwyn, as seen in set 2 of the block.

  • aswanlikeneck

    It could just about be green depending how the set breaks down, say,

    1-12 non-artifact colourless
    13-41 white
    42-70 blue
    71-100 black
    101-129 red
    130-160 green
    161 onwards multi, artifacts and lands.

    In the chronicle they line the walls with organic matter. So maybe.

    • Vizzerdrix

      It could be green as a small add on for landfall. This feels like it should be land based and green would be the color to do something regarding lands

    • Evan Dischinger

      In which do they do that?

  • Happy The Cat

    if the front side of this is a land I’m going to have to build a deck that animates it under a Xenograft so it will flip on a moonmist. this thing has 13 power if it gets to swing. pretty sure it will have flipping it will have a huge cost, hopefully not high enough to make it useless like Elbrus.
    in other matters, top left, what’s that about? marker for a new flipping keyword or just flavor of the “eldrazi are the moon” stuff?

    • free the eternal

      The symbol shows how the card was transformed. Moon pic for things that the moon causes to transform, planeswalker symbol for spark transformation, and eldrazi pic for emrakul transformed things.

      • Guest

        educated guess or was there something official that some of us may have missed?

        • eltratzo

          Well afaik in the leadup to SoI MaRo said something to the effect of: the symbol at the upper left was once denoting which was front(sun) and which was back(moon). since origins it just denotes flipping cards and as long as front and back are different symbols they as of now don’t carry any further rules meaning.

    • Bastion8889

      Collector number 130/205 if the front side was a land that would mean there are 75 land in the set I would say it’s some kind of eldrazi on the front. Tho Emrakul is 006/205 I think. I need to look into where eldrazi come in the order but it won’t be a land.

      • Vizzerdrix

        They would be first if there colorless, Attracts as a whole show up at the end even though they’re also colorless

  • Jacob Kodicovic

    Thoughts:

    Hanwier Wall
    4W
    Legendary Creature – Wall

    Defender

    At the beginning of each end step, if 3 or more creatures died this turn, transform Hanwier Wall.

    0/7

    • It’s number (130) is wayyyy to high to be white, Supplanter is in blue and is card 64.

      • Jacob Kodicovic

        Ok. The spoiler just says the card is white, but it might also be green or a land

        • De’Elgathor

          Most likely red, unless there are a ton of lands or a disproportionate number of green cards.

  • Teed

    Here’s betting the front is either a Fortification or a Contraption ;)

    • Minizem

      Oh PLEASE be a fortification

  • Araska

    This may not be a flip card at all. There may be another mechanic we are not seeing. The icon isn’t a moon, it’s the Eldrazi.
    Though admittedly it probably is a flip.

    • Hedronal

      The icon was different in Magic Origins as well, at which point it lost its rules meaning.

  • Robert FakeLastName

    must have game rules for how the hell to play this.

    • Jacob Kodicovic

      It’s presumably double sided

    • Gareth Martin

      It transforms… It has been stated IN THE VIDEO REVEAL.

      • Robert FakeLastName

        did not know there was such a thing

  • Mr.DudeMan

    Maybe there is no casting cost. And wizards just wanted to make some absurd broken card. Just an idea

    • pbtenchi

      If a card has no casting cost it can’t be cast. This was sometimes used for alternate casting. Besides, the symbol at the top left is a pretty good indication it’s a transform card.

    • Gareth Martin

      It’s been stated in it’s reveal video that it’s a transform card.

  • Nathan Harviala

    Watch as this is the new Marit Lage, just a fancy token that’s brought out by something like a land.

    • Gareth Martin

      Not a token though so…

  • Ben

    Scavenging ooze 2.0, eat a land from graveyard transform scavenging ooze 2.0

  • Omeneon

    I think this is going to be a flip card for a land because the name instantly reminded me of Gavony Township and I may be wrong but in the art for the card, don’t the buildings in the card match those with Gavony Township? Even a little? That’s just a thought from me. What other ideas are there about it?

    • Sylvio

      The buildings share an resemblance because the architecture of whole Innistrad the same theme.
      Now we do have Hanweir Militia Captain, so it might be a flip land for a town called Hanweir most likely.

      • Gareth Martin

        You don’t even need to think that far. The name of this creature IS the town’s name.

    • De’Elgathor

      It can’t be a land, the collector number is too low.

  • Guest

    All this debate about how to play the card and whether or not it’s a double faced card seems silly given the fact that in the reveal video for the card the revealer even said it’s the back of a double faced card and he simply wasn’t given the front side to reveal.

  • I’AMRAKUL

    I wonder whose idea it was to replace the moon with a jelly fish.

  • Evan Dischinger

    Howl’s Moving Castle

  • jonb86

    I think this is a land that transforms into an Eldrazi.

    • De’Elgathor

      Collector number’s too low to be a land

  • Bige Boiy

    i’m gonna marry it

  • Arcus Diabolus

    The fact that we are getting eldrazi tribal on Innistrad of all places still leaves a sour taste in my mouth… I’m really not digging the idea of going several more months dealing with them, nor am I looking forward to the buff this set will bring to existing eldrazi decks, in both standard and modern. Coax from the Blind Eternites already hosed exile removal and we can only assume theres going to be more incoming.

  • Avery Spillane

    Thus has to be a land transform, why else would it need haste?

    • Bige Boiy

      it would make sense to have haste if it reenters the battlefield when transforming.

  • Adam

    Sure this has been predicted already, but given the flavour of the card this will 100% be a land. For the transform ability I’d guess a link to sacrificing eldrazi spawn, to show Emrakul gradually infesting the plane. So ‘sac 5 eldrazi spawn to transform this land’. I’d be amazed if there weren’t some creatures – in the preview video there was what looked like some kind of monster infected werewolf so perhaps there’ll be a sub theme of Eldrazi-fied transformers.

    • kasigah

      So, we don’t have definite confirmation of this YET, but the transform symbol on this is different from all other transforms in the block so far, including Ulrich. Now that the merge mechanic has been revealed, and it also has a unique transform symbol, it’s safe to assume that this is the result of a merge. My guess is a land and a creature, but that’s just speculation

    • NC

      Well.

      Half of it is a land.

  • Stinker289

    Well Graf Rats and Midnight Scavengers appear to confirm this will have its own unique transformation. Meld, having two or more appropriate meld creatures at the start of combat will cause them to meld (exile them and they meld into the appropriate creature)

    • kasigah

      I doubt all meld combos will be a start of combat thing, but I’m happy for the uniqueness of it, if they can guarantee both parts in the same pack.

      • De’Elgathor

        I don’t think I could put into words how much hate drafting that could cause. If I got passed a pack with one half of Hanweir or something more common and not the other, I’d be very tempted to just deny the person who drafted it the other half.

      • Sauceycoffee

        The fusion is on the backs of the cards for what I know. Two card backs combine for the full fusion card.

        • kasigah

          Yes, but we don’t know if the two cards will come together in packs or not. That’s my point.

  • I cant wait to find out if Meld will be anything like Fusion summoning in Yugioh. It was one of the most (and only) fun parts about the original game. Will it have a special zone for the cards? will they be tutored from sideboard? Who knows, that’s the fun.

    • Hedronal

      The melded version is on the back face of its components.

  • I’amfrog
  • Panda-s1

    “Might they recur the colorless mana cost thing from Gatewatch?” no, apparently that was only something Kozilek did, not Emrakul.

  • Vizzerdrix

    the issue here is that as of now the plane hasnt been reduced to waste not a pun i mean it litteraly meaning they wouldn’t reprint wastes so going forward to the way standard rotates you would have a colorless matters id call it a cycle if they continued into eldritch moon and now no relyable way to cast some of the cards, yes you would have other ways of generating colorless but being able to fetch a waste is pretty big.

  • Hedronal

    Given that Wastes had a name but not a basic land type, and now typeless basic lands tap for C, any number of differently named and themed colorless basics could be made, at least in principle. In practice, another one wouldn’t surprise me in general, although it would in EMN.

  • De’Elgathor

    Where has it been stated that typeless basics tap for C?

  • Vizzerdrix

    thats a good point, a bit odd but totally doable. like you said not sure i can think of anything for emn for a colorless basic to be based on but they could and keep it evergreen until they dont care about colorless and it would really effect anything outside of standard and colorless edh

  • Hedronal

    My mistake, the actual way WotC made Wastes work textlessly is by giving it an unprinted ability of “(T): Add (C) to your mana pool.” I was mistaken to say that it got that ability from a game rule, rather it is from a single-card unprinted ability.

    That said, the same unprinted ability could be put on a different typeless basic land still, so the idea would still work.