• MTG fan

    Nice card. Looks awesome!

  • Deadly Berry

    Just one more mana than your usual Fiend Hunter, while simultaneously giving you the option of keeping the stolen good. Sweet card.

  • Jonathan Reynolds

    Temporary removal with a body that can turn into permanent removal and a steal? Nice. This seems like the ideal card to draw off the top of your deck in late game.

  • Shagoth

    Wow, really like this one! It’s another that I want to see in modern but we know it probably will be damned the EDH realms of fun and spirit power levels.

  • Aurore

    Right into Silumgar “take yo sh*t” EDH deck

  • Hedronal

    And that’s how UB does Banishing. I enjoy color pie bends/explores like this.

  • Blahblahblahbla

    Now this is an interesting card design! I absolutely adore this card and will be copying this as often as possible! :D

  • Mr.Mayhem631

    So… If I’m reading this right, if you target itself, it infinitely flickers.

    No way these leaks are real if that’s correct.

    • Edward

      How would it infinitely flicker? You have to pay the cards CMC still

      • Thomas Luffman

        It says “exile until [Cardname] leaves the battlefield.”
        Also Banishing effects are certainly not blue or black. They are pretty much only white.

        • Edward

          Oh you are right. I still don’t see it being broken unless you have a “whenever a creature enters the battlefield blank happens” effect or you use Panharmonicon to infinitely flicker everything on your side that has an ETB effect.

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            If you play it on an empty board it draws the game.

            And yes, it’s not broken unless you have a “whenever a creature enters the battlefield blank happens” effect… But why wouldn’t you? There’s a colorless one at only one mana. 5 mana, 2 cards, instant win.

          • Edward

            Wait what is the 1 cmc card?

          • eltratzo

            he used altar of the brood in another comment.

          • Thomas Luffman

            If they make “until [cardname] leaves the battlefield” shorthand for exactly what fiend hunter does, it should stop the loop.

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            Altar of the Brood.

          • Edward

            Oh well that isn’t in Standard so Wizards won’t care. It isn’t like Modern will be drastically changed by this card if it is real

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            Uh… Yeah, it will. It’s a two card instant win. There is no way it doesn’t see play (Splinter Twin was banned).

            And even in standard, again, it’s a forced draw on an empty board.

            Also, I think it’s infinite energy with one of the Kaladesh modules. Or an infinitely big creature with Ninth Bridge Patrol.

          • eltratzo

            I read up about the until wording a bit. it’s a weird point in the rules. it is one of the only things so immediate not even statebased effects can happen in between( “The exiled cards return to the battlefield immediately after Consulate
            Crackdown leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions” from consulate crackdown gatherer individual cardrules) and if the triggering card is away before resolution it doesn’t do anything.

            so in the absence of other information it just might be possible that an “until” card targeting itself doesn’t actually leave the battlefield, thereby removing all problems with this card.

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            With Consulate Crackdown, they’ll still trigger their enters the battlefield abilities. As it is with this.

          • eltratzo

            only if consulate crackdown sees them exiled while leaving. if consulate crackdown is removed before its effect resolves they won’t.( “If Consulate Crackdown leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, no artifacts will be exiled.”)

            this here is a different case though. however going from current rules there will be no point where the game itself (here defined as “statebased abilities”) sees a gamestate without hostage taker on the field. that shouldn’t be a problem based on flicker rules. but that isn’t the real question here.

            the question is how wizard will fix this.
            either reword the card and scrap all already printed sheets,
            just ban it.
            or tweak the rules so the problem ceases existing.

            if they choose 3. a simple “hostage taker targeting itself doesn’t leave the battlefield” should be the most “elegant” of solutions.

            edit: the individual cardrules on the alighned hedron network confirm the loop happens under current rules.
            8/25/2015 In some very rare situations, Aligned Hedron Network may enter the battlefield as a creature with power 5 or greater. If this happens, Aligned Hedron Network will exile itself along with other creatures with power 5 or greater. Those cards will immediately return to the battlefield. If this causes a loop with Aligned Hedron Network continually exiling and returning itself, the game will be a draw unless a player breaks the loop somehow.

            thanks to summerspeaker for pointing me to that.

          • Edward

            That is true. I can see it being broken but not unbeatable. They could also have some sort of rules change to go along with it like they did in Amonkhet with split cards that prevent it from breaking any formats.

          • Krhaynes1

            This new set has an instant win I think. Reckless Fireweaver + Arcan adaptation (from ixalan) name artifact creature + hostage taker. Kill? Does that work?

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            Yep, that’s it.

          • eltratzo

            altar of the brood doesn’t actually work. it mills the enemy out, yes. but you don’t loose from an empty library. you loose by drawing from it. and the game will end in a draw before that

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            No it won’t, because if there are other artifacts or creatures on the board (Say, Altar of the Brood) you can exile one of those and end the loop.

            It only infinitely loops on an empty board.

          • eltratzo

            ah yeah right. so empty his lib and then remove the altar. yeah that works.

          • DJ Pad

            There’s lot of effects that WOULD end the game though –> impact tremors, etc.

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            Including Altar of the Brood!

            :D

          • Robert FakeLastName

            except since altar is an artifact you can choose the artifact after 30-40k triggers

    • Happy The Cat

      sure, it could loop, whatever, but the real breaker is when you can cast this with panharmonicon on the board and start flickering everything.

      • Mr.Mayhem631

        No, the real breaker is that you could cast it on an empty board and draw the game.

        • Happy The Cat

          well, you can make the game go to time but not force a draw, and people will really judge you if you use a loop to go to time game two more than once.

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            You can, in fact, force a draw. From the comp rules:

            104.4b If a game that’s not using the limited range of influence option (including a two-player game) somehow enters a “loop” of mandatory actions, repeating a sequence of events with no way to stop, the game is a draw. Loops that contain an optional action don’t result in a draw.

            This creates a loop of mandatory actions. Oh, and if you play it with Altar of the Brood you just win.

          • eltratzo

            question there: did we have that kind of loop with an “until” wording before? if not, is there maybe a loophole in that (it not actually leaving because of stuff and therefore not looping.) i don’t THINK so but I want to at least entertain the possibility

          • Yeah you can loop with Aligned Hedron Network and something makes it a 5+-power creature.

          • Nthrof

            Can you please explain how this forces a draw on am empty board? PLease explain it to me as if I have never played the game before, because I don’t see what the big deal is here

          • eltratzo

            it enters.
            then its enters the battlefield ability starts resolving forcing you to target an artifact or creature.
            it beeing the only valid target it exiles itself.
            it is no longer on the field so the “until” clause kicks in and returns it to the battlefield.
            then it’s enters the battlefield ability starts resolving forcing you to target an artifact or creature.
            etc.

            under current rules there is no way to break that without using an extra card.

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            Unless you play it on an empty field.

          • eltratzo

            I didn’t mean break the effect. I know how that works. I talked about breaking the loop once it started.

          • Nthrof

            Nevermind, I got it

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            Cast Hostage Taker (HT)

            HT’s enter the battlefield (ETB) triggers, exiling itself.

            Since it’s left the battlefield, the thing it exiled, in this case itself, is returned.

            And then it loops. Since there’s nothing you can do to stop the loop, the game is a draw.

          • Ja Ja ja

            They can change rule, as recently did whit double cards

          • Robert FakeLastName

            altar of the brood would not work. it would have to be like purphuros. having an empty deck does not make you lose. You still need to draw. impact tremors is a good option. Also altar of the brood is an artifact. so…..

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            You don’t need to force a draw, the draw step does that for you.

            And why does it matter if it’s an artifact?

            If they weren’t errata-ing this, Altar would without a doubt be the best card to combo it with.

          • Robert FakeLastName

            because it targets artifacts as well.

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            So? You’re not trying to draw, you’re trying to win.

          • Robert FakeLastName

            except you cannot knowingly start an inf loop to draw the game. there are some weird ways around but i don’t think this would qualify. you may be forced to target the artifact to go inf like that.

        • Kevan Kramer

          Infinite combos have to end, therefor this card is not as broken as you say it is.

          • Mr.Mayhem631

            How do you end it? Usually, you choose to end it, but with this, there’s no option. It *must* go on infiinitely.

            And I haven’t even mentioned the fact that in every format except standard, it can be used with Altar of the Brood for a two card instant win.

            The fact that it’s broken is not what’s up for debate here. That is a fact. What’s up for debate is whether that means it’s fake. I personally don’t think it is because the rest of the spoilers are so well done… But this is an oddity.

          • Zombie

            Infinite combos do have to end, correct.

            If an infinite combo has no way to stop itself, it forces itself to end by immediately drawing the game.

            This is why no one plays The Four Horsemen deck anymore. Because its unending infinite combo has no resolution and causes the game to draw out.

            If Hostage Taker is the only Creature or Artifact on the board when you play it, as its ability is not a may ability, it will continuously and forcefully loop itself indefinitely, causing the game to automatically draw.

            If no player has a way to stop an infinite combo that has no resolution, the game can not proceed past that combo. The rules force that game to end in a draw immediately.

          • Minomelo

            So you are completely right about it going to a draw. But that is not at all what the Four Horsemen combo is.

          • Zombie

            That’s exactly what the deck accomplishes, though.

            Nobody bothers playing 4H anymore because you just time out or draw every single game.

            You can’t reasonably expect to win a real game with it.

          • Minomelo

            The combo isn’t an non-optional infinite loop though. The loop is just activating Basalt Monolith a lot with Mesmeric Orb, which is totally optional.

            The reason the Four Horsemen combo is noteworthy is because you need your deck to be in a specific order for it to work (you need Dread Return, Sharuum, and Blasting Station to all be milled before you hit the Emrakul).

            You can’t shortcut this as it may never happen (due to randomness), and you can’t describe the state of the graveyard when it does. This means you’re in violation of Slow Play rules and doing the combo will continuously pick up Warnings resulting in a Game Loss.

    • Aurore

      That’s why Detention Sphere was made to not hit Detention Spheres…
      Ugh, wizards, I’m hoping there’s an errata incoming.

  • Luke

    Great name :)

  • Edwin Marín Castro

    This is so hilarious… And acurate.

  • Pseudofate

    That can’t possible say creature. It probably exiles whatever the hell card type the Vehicle-esque looking card from the sheet is.

    2nd row from the top. Between the White Vamp and big Blue CMC card. The P/T is White.

    So start thinking up synonyms for boats cause Crew is coming back in some form.

    • Mr.Mayhem631

      Why don’t you think that it’s a vehicle?

      • Pseudofate

        I think it’s a vehicle but possibly a new spin on it. Obviously the type line is to blurry to make out, hell it barely looks like it says Artifact, but at the same time the right hand frame looks like the “rails” from a vehicle template, and of course the P/T is white, I don’t think it is a trick of the light. At the same time, blurry as it is, it does not appear to have Crew in the text box. Some other longer word or words appear to be present. So I think it may be Artifact – [Specific Ship Type] that uses some other form for Crewing. Hell I’m sure we all came up with a variant of crew while making our custom cards at one point or another. Or it could use a static “come to life” ability as was used with the Gods.

        Also that art looks like a ship with a dragon head carved into the bow, meandering through some swampland.

        A big con to that hypothesis is why bother making a new artifact subtype and “crew” ability a year after Kaladesh. The only reason I can fathom is distinctive planar flavor.

        For funsies here are a bunch of different types of ships: Barque, Barquentine, Bilander, Brig, Brigantine, Caravel, Carrack, Clipper, Cog, Corvette, Cutter, Dhow, Fluyt, Frigate, Full-Rigged, Galleon, Ketch, Lugger, Schooner, Ship of the Line, Sloop, Snow, Windjammer, Xebec, Yawl.

        • Pseudofate

          There is a (slightly) clearer image available. In case my other other post with the link does not get approved,, here’s a linkless copy/paste.

          Well this is now void somewhat. Not the vehicle part, that definitely happening (In fact, I think it does say Vehicle now, but DOES NOT use Crew) the wording debate part. Here is a clearer image. It most certainly says creature.

          Typo errata inc. We’ve seen it before (Walking Atlas) OR……….. rules change?

          • Lord Gonti Of The Orzov Networ

            I am sure its a vehicle. It has the brown Power and toughness.

    • theEternalPilgrims

      it definitely says creature. i can see it clearly in the full leak image posted, fully zoomed. but yeah, the sheet definitely has a vehicle up top.

  • lawl

    Would prefer if this cost 1UW.

  • kmk888

    I believe this is a 3UB 2/3, but regardless I love this card deeply

    Edit: 2UB, a dream come true!

  • Bostorket

    Should have called this ‘Stockholm Syndrome’.

    • Robert FakeLastName

      But it works on artifacts too for some reason lol.

  • Shagoth

    It’s real, and because of that rules glitch, this might be banned in vintage because this is one of the few cards that can literally break the game on its own. I’m not comparing this to black lotus, I’m comparing this to chaos orb. Either that or else they’ll HAVE to errata it immediately. Devine Intervention is not a four mana creature which can exile something else for a reason.

    • JD Farrell

      It’s already errata’d

      • Shagoth

        This still looks like it infinitely combs with itself.

        • JD Farrell

          On the printed card, yes. Which is why they have given it errata. It now can’t do this to itself.

    • TogetherAlone

      How would this be broken without errata. not arguing just curious.

      • Hedronal

        It can target itself for infinite etb/ltb triggers.

  • Vizzerdrix

    I feel this will either get a day one errata similiar to mareth of the wild or it’ll unfortunately get banned to prevent stalled games

    • Edward

      Already be errata’d. They made it so it now says “another creature” in the errata but the card itself will stay as is. This feels like a huge oversight since they have to errata a card before it is even released.

  • Krhaynes1

    Turn 4 win in standard. T2 reckless fireweaver, T3 arcane adaptation naming artifact creature, T4 hostage taker and kill opponent

    • You can’t name artifact. It’s a supertype, not a creature type.

      • Krhaynes1

        You’re right, I always focused on the artifact creature not the construct part or whatever. That’s disappointing though lol.

    • Gage Horton

      Cough *errata to another* cough.

      • Krhaynes1

        At the time of the post I was not aware of that so…

    • galen150

      arcane adaptation cant name artifact creature. artifact is a card type, not a creature type

      • Krhaynes1

        Ya realized that like two days after I posted that. It’s one of those thing where you know it as an artifact creature, not a construct lol.

  • Ryan Sullivan

    This is going straight into my Esper Blink, hell yeah. Late game this thing absolutely does everything I want, and a deck that can stall to get there capitalizes off of it. Put an aether vial on 4 and steal an emrakul or something, it’s really cool.

  • Shane Nielsen

    If hostage taker is taken off the field but the other player had already cast the exiled card does the owner of the exiled card (That’s in play now) get that card back on their side of the field?

    • Hedronal

      Nope. It returns to the owner only if it was still in exile from Hostage Taker’s ability.

  • kmk888

    All my standard decks for a while are going to have 4 of this and 3 of The Scarab God.

    • Shagoth

      dat curve do

  • Dmk218

    Gonticon anyone?
    *grins*

  • Justus Bruestle

    Because of the errata it can’t cause infinite etb triggers anymore. However it is still possible to do it. If you hostage take a Hostage Taker, thats hostage taking a Hostage Taker, the first Hostage Taker would reenter the battlefield, allowing it to hostage take the third Hostage Taker, which would free the second, allowing it to hostage take the first. Thus causing an infinite loop of Hostage Taker hostage taking. It would require you to cast 3 of the same 4 drop creature without any of them dying until you cast the third one, but it’s possible.

    • Christian Chiasson

      You’re forgetting you would need a source of infinite mana to do this. You still have to keep casting whichever Hostage Taker is being exiled to keep the infinite loop going. If it said “You may cast that card without paying it’s mana cost” it would work easily, but you still need to pay mana to cast the exiled card.

      • Justus Bruestle

        No you don’t have to spend Mana. It’s says the creature remains exiled till hostage taker leaves play. The third hostage taker would make the second leave play freeing the first.