Marath, Will of the Wild - Commander 2013 Spoiler

Marath, Will of the Wild

  • Color: Green, Red, White
  • Type: Legendary Creature - Beast, Elemental
  • Rarity: Mythic Rare
  • Set:

Buy from Card Kingdom - $ 0.99

Buy Dominaria Bundle Box - $29.99

Marath, Will of the Wild enters the battlefield with a number of +1/+1 counters on it equal to the amount of mana spent to cast it.

X, Remove X +1/+1 counters from Marath: Choose one — Put X +1/+1 counters on target creature; or Marath deals X damage to target creature or player; or put an X/X green Elemental creature token onto the battlefield. X can’t be 0.

  • TETSUO!!!!

    Oh wow, First! Also, I like the flavor. Pretty dope commander, if I do declare.

  • YouGotFranked

    hmm, probably the least interesting of the 5 generals, but still a pretty good creature. I think many Naya decks would still play him in their 99.

  • Levi Warren

    The Jitte is a creature…melikey.

  • Graymalkin86

    Marath + Doubling Season + Mana Echoes = GG

    • Graymalkin86

      I believe Ivy Lane Denizen can take the place of Doubling Season if you want a less expensive option.

      • MtgMind-Welder98

        Not as good, but I get your point.

  • Sabisent

    I’ve just noticed. It doesn’t say X can’t be 0 on the card. Infinite on-death effects?

    • Sabisent

      Hissing Iguanar

      • Sabisent

        Never mind, it is official errata

  • Andy Dondes

    Combos with blood artist :D

  • Zombie

    Seems a tad inefficient, but otherwise it seems decent.

    Don’t think it’s better than Mayael, but certainly playable.

  • MtgMind-Welder98

    Not as good as Mayael, but it could work in her deck sort of….no not really.

  • fuzzykittybark

    kalonian hydra got a new friend

  • Shika-Shika

    Damn, this guy is broken. Put a few cards that do things like Spear of Heliod (All creatures get +1/+1) and cards like Hissing Iguanar (Whenever a creature dies, opponent loses 1 life) then just remove 0 counters from this guy 500 times, make infinite tokens and win.

    • Mick Cortella

      X cant be zero read again

      • Somidna

        Wizards had to do a little bit of errata work on this card. The printed card says nothing about x having to be greater than zero. So yes, before they caught themselves, it could go infinite for no reason, if not with an anthem then with a suture priest or some similar effect. Someone typing up this card’s effects tripped up a little. Kind of a bummer for a newer player who figures out that you ‘could’ spend x = 0 and go infinite, only to have another player correct them for not knowing the text change. Oh well.

        • Shika-Shika

          Aw. This card is terrible now that they caught that. I’m not surprised though. Like I said, it would have been broken as hell.

  • Kira

    If you remove all of the counters from Marath, Will of the Wild to deal damage to a player/creature it will die as a state-based action and therefore be unable to deal any damage, lol. The same goes for using removal while the effect is on the stack. It should have just stated that “Deal X damage to that target” instead of including him in the text.

    • Mike Thomas

      Not quite, but close. You’re right, statebased actions will kill the creature before the damage. However, the ability checks the last known state of the creature before death. For example, if you gave the creature lifelink, and then killed him through that ability, the ability would check the last state of the creature, and it would would deal X damage and you would gain X life.
      Not one hundred percent sure on this, but I know for sure that abilities regarding creatures dealing damage do not require the creature to resolve.

  • TehBadaxe

    Good with Purphoros on board.

  • Kad

    I’m surprised no one has seen the infinite combo that has nothing to do with paying zero. It should have been real obvious… I’ll give you a hint guys! A card from innistrad and a card from onslaught! Fun times!

    • Guest

      Does one of them happen to be Cathar’s Crusade?

      • Guest

        Wouldn’t it go infinite with the crusade along with doubling season/parallel lives and, say, Ashnod’s Altar?

        • MatthewPitcock

          Mana Echoes+ Cathars’ Crusade=Infinite tokens

          • YouGotFranked

            Of infinite size i must add, since Cathar’s Crusade is pumping all previous tokens when a new one etb.

          • Stephen Scazzafavo

            ivy lane denizen works too

          • Stephen Scazzafavo

            a lot cheaper too

    • silver

      AFAIK it has been errata’d. You cant pay 0

  • Datfish

    Wait… let’s say, you remove 5 counters from him then put 5 counters on him again, while Doubling Season is out… wouldn’t that mean you would put 10 Tokens on him for 5? And since you don’t have to tap him, or even have to wait a turn you could instantly kill everybody with this as you could just keep on making counters and then burn them?

    • Mike Thomas

      No, it’s limited by mana. For example, with doubling season or primal vigor, you would essentially pay X mana to put X counter on Marath. So to get even close to burning an opponent would take about 10 turns or so, assuming that every turn you tap out to abuse Marath. And while that’s happening, your opponents will have all the time in the world to kill you or Marath.