• Daniel Scott

    I imagine there is probably something genuinely good, but all I want to see is a deck with this and lab maniac and everything else has cycling.

    • God Enel

      There’s already a deck just like that, but it uses Fluctuator to decrease cycling cost by 2 colorless, and all the cycling cards in the deck cycle for 2 colorless, so you can cycle the entire deck, and Fluctuator only costs 2 mana to play, much better than this overcosted enchantment.

      • eltratzo

        said deck is also only legal in legacy. this might open up variants on this in standard or modern. it probably won’t. but the possibility is there

        • God Enel

          You didn’t mention any formats in your original post, so I assumed you had never seen the original cycling combo.

          • Happy The Cat

            well, he didn’t make that post, pretty sure he was just pointing out this is a modern legal Fluctator with a Concentrate stapled to it
            plus the deck can run cycle cards that have colored cycle costs, which is a needed change into modern.

          • God Enel

            I didn’t check if he was the original poster, it just made sense that he was based on his reply lol.

          • eltratzo

            as our resident blue cat pointed out I am not the original poster. the reason I replied was because of your “much better than this overcosted enchantment”-comment.
            since format playability does matter in the evaluation of cards and even a worse variant of a card can see more play than the original if it is playable in sufficently weaker formats.
            I doubt that this will be one of those cases but considered it worth mntioning

        • Daniel Scott

          I however am the original poster. Cheers for the info everyone.

  • Kaiser

    More cards for the blue god. Good job WotC i never lost my faith in you…for now (?)

  • Derek Niles

    the seven card hand thing sucks but that is a very cool ability

    • MithosFall

      The seven cards thing isn’t as bad as it seems. In the right deck, once you get this out, you can cycle through most of your library.

  • Jake Miller

    Lol this and Noose Constrictor/The Gitrog Monster would be funny cause you could filter the entire deck for 0 mana.

    • God Enel

      Google “fluctuator cycling deck”.

  • Happy The Cat

    I mean it was built to Slide, if you can turn this into a creature and have that etb trigger more than once this thing becomes a massive swing in your favor.

    • Marvin Sürig

      Outside of Standard you can use Brago for 3 cards each turn and Starfield of Nyx makes this a creature and if it dies Starfied gets it back.
      Would work nice with Tought Reflection to draw two card when you cycle a card for 0. Plus you draw 6 cards on ETB.
      But all that looks a lot like EDH stuff.

    • Robert FakeLastName

      opalescence.

  • NothingSpecial

    *ahem* WHAT

  • Edward

    Apparently all of the blue rares are going to revolve around cycling since this is the third in a row

    • De’Elgathor

      It’s like blue is the color that interacts with drawing cards or something.

      • Edward

        That doesn’t mean all of the rares need to revolve around cycling. Blue does more than draw

        • Hedronal

          And we haven’t seen all the rares yet.

          • Edward

            I know we still have like 25-30 more rares to go but they still should try to give variety in the effects of cards they spoil so we get a more accurate representation of what will be in the set. Assuming there is 3-5 more blue rares then they have spoiled about half already so we should have seen at least 1 rare card that doesn’t revolve around cycling in blue.

          • Hedronal

            I’ve got to call nitpick on this. Three similar rares came first, that’s all.

          • Edward

            That is a fair. I just don’t like all of 1 archetype spoiled one after the other because it doesn’t show an accurate representation of the set. They should how a little of each archetype instead of just showing all of one.

  • Brian Schmidt

    Who is the best cycling commander with blue in it?

  • Hedronal

    What am I looking at in this art?

    • Shagoth

      Art for a red card.

  • Scathain

    Mana cost seems a bit excessive outside of EDH.

    • DJ Pad

      To be fair, it does have a draw-3 attached to it…and can be blinked. May be ok as a 2-of or something in control for standard, but too expensive in all likelihood to be a combo piece in eternal formats, fluctuator is much better for that.

  • Deadly Berry

    You know what else is not a new perspective? Lots of cards in hand mechanics are bad.

    • MrAptronym

      I seem to recall that being one of the bigger lessons of Kamigawa actually.

  • G1997

    Although high costed it is worth the mana, 2 mana for a conditional but better fluctuator ability, and 4 mana to draw three cards. Once this card is online (7 cards in hand) and you have one card with cycling you draw your entre deck by cycling that one card. The wording of new perspective is pay 0 rather than pay the cycling cost and cycling cost includes the discard.

    Official Rules of Cycling here:

    702.28. Cycling
    702.28a Cycling is an activated ability that functions only while the card with cycling is in a
    player’s hand. “Cycling [cost]” means “[Cost], Discard this card: Draw a card.”
    702.28b Although the cycling ability can be activated only if the card is in a player’s hand, it
    continues to exist while the object is on the battlefield and in all other zones. Therefore objects
    with cycling will be affected by effects that depend on objects having one or more activated
    abilities.
    702.28c Some cards with cycling have abilities that trigger when they’re cycled. “When you cycle
    [this card]” means “When you discard [this card] to pay a cycling cost.” These abilities trigger
    from whatever zone the card winds up in after it’s cycled.
    702.28d Typecycling is a variant of the cycling ability. “[Type]cycling [cost]” means “[Cost],
    Discard this card: Search your library for a [type] card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then
    shuffle your library.” This type is usually a subtype (as in “mountaincycling”) but can be any
    card type, subtype, supertype, or combination thereof (as in “basic landcycling”).
    702.28e Typecycling abilities are cycling abilities, and typecycling costs are cycling costs. Any
    cards that trigger when a player cycles a card will trigger when a card is discarded to pay a
    typecycling cost. Any effect that stops players from cycling cards will stop players from
    activating cards’ typecycling abilities. Any effect that increases or reduces a cycling cost will
    increase or reduce a typecycling cost.

    • bubbles

      Actually, rule 702.28a says the exact opposite of what you’re claiming: You have to pay [Cost] AND discard the card, so the discarding is not part of [Cost].

      • G1997

        702.28c says “When you discard [this card] to pay a cycling cost.” So discarding is part of the cost.

        • bubbles

          Wow, you’re right. 702.28a seems to say the opposite, but [Cost] could just be meant as “all the other costs “, I guess. Do you think they’ll change this part of the rules? The card would be really strange otherwise.

          • G1997

            I believe it should be addressed but I’m hoping it’s not. And there’s a chance that since it’s sorta trivial it’ll be like the original ruling on split cards where players were rewarded for digging into the rules and understanding how the cards worked.

      • Purphoros

        It actually doesn’t. 702.28a does not define the term “cycling cost” but declares the shorthand “cycling [cost]” and the verbose ability text, where [cost] is merely a placeholder for the variable part of the cost, as everything in square brackets is.

        The punctuation is more than just decoration.

        As @G1997 pointed out, the rules also specifically refer to discarding as a cycling cost.

        • bubbles

          Yeah, I realised that when I read @G1997’s reply. This is one really strange card then.

    • Kahai

      You’re greatly misunderstanding how cycling works. You must always discard the card with cycling to cycle it.

      The first cost is the cost that is replaced with New Perspectives.

      Ultimately, we have to wait for all the rules to hit and the FAQ for judges to roll out for all rules clarification.

      Gatherer will likely display all of the additional rulings for this card as well. See my above post on the official word about this card.

  • Kahai

    Confirmation on how this works, the cost replaced is the first cost, you will be discarding the cycled card: https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/1770b1c8dd3d3f62915eab99742893068e28ad8ac81d86ff85b2bddc4e0ee34d.jpg

  • Shagoth

    It would only be common sense for discarding cards to still be a part of the cost. Otherwise it would be a controlled Enter the Infinite.

  • TheAweDude

    You could, in theory, draw your whole deck by having nothing but cycling cards. You can already have 20 cycling lands, so it is not entirely unfeasible. Of course, you’ll never have all your cards in your hand at the same time, but still.

    • Kahai

      Posted a screen shot of the upcoming addendum to the rules that stops that, As Tabak said, you can’t draw your deck with this card.

      • TheAweDude

        I am saying if all other cards in your deck had cycling, you would be able to loot your entire deck. You would only ever have 7 (or however many cards you started with when you began cycling) cards in hand, but you would still be able to essentially “choose” your hand.

        • Kahai

          If every card you had in the deck had cycling, yes, you could draw your entire deck.

  • Uncertain Title

    Man, if you had a cycle deck with this thing and the Black Demon spoiled earlier, you will slaughter everything your opponents have.
    I’m really looking forward to this ^ ^

  • kmk888

    I didn’t think much of this when I saw it, but having tested it with Shefet Monitor, Vizier of Tumbling Sands, and Shadow of the Grave leads me to believe this will be a viable combo deck in Standard.