Pithing Needle - Return to Ravnica Spoiler

Pithing Needle



Buy from Card Kingdom - $ 3.49

As Pithing Needle enters the battlefield, name a card.

Activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can’t be activated unless they’re mana abilities.

The fearful want the procedure before a blood festival. The guilty seek it afterward.



  • Ethral

    Nice reprint.

  • Ploxerz

    It’s about time someone jabbed this into a Delver’s back.

    •  what does this have to do with delver?

      • indes

        “Activated abilities”
        I.E. Delver’s flip ability, delver cannot transform if the pithing needle names “Delver of Secrets” 

        So basically it makes delver a 1/1 for 1 lol

        • ACK

          Delver’s flip is a triggered ability.

        • Mlundgoldstein

          transforming is a triggered ability dude delver isn’t affected

        • Mrfr1day

          dumbass.

    • ACK

      How does it affect Delver?

  • Mlundgoldstein

    So glad they reprinted pithing needle so much people will be able to do with it in  standard

  • JimmiesvanRustlin

    What do you do with a pithing needle? What do you do with a pithing needle? What do you do with a pithing needle, early in the game?

    • Zimmer Remmiz

      Dude are you serious?…

      • JimmiesvanRustlin

        Why can’t i type meter?

        • Zimmer Remmiz

          Ah I see, go about your business then…

    • Aether Tech

      You call “Jace” or “LOLTroll” and call it a day.

    • Wisdomseyes

      Well, Needle is a sideboard card in most formats so its pretty iffy on what you would do with it early game one… but you made your deck with a specific purpose if you drop it turn 1 game one. 

  • Voldrin

    Delver, you may now politely go f*ck yourself.

    • Highlander

       this has no effect on Delver because he has no activated abilities.

  • Neuo the 1

    112.3b Activated
    abilities have a cost and an effect. They are written as “[Cost]: [Effect.]
    [Activation instructions (if any).]”everyone please consider this rule before naming a card, because i keep seeing Delver and Delver has no activated abilities

  • Diskwars

    the BG Troll got countered before his release…

    • Zimmer Remmiz

      Abrupt Decay, and Naturalize make Pithing Needle kind of Null and Void against G/B, unfortunately…

  • Flickerfan

    so what counts as a mana ability?

    • lands, creatures and artifacts tapin to generate mana…u may note that abilities that could end up generating mana (like arbor elf untaping land ability) doesnt count

  • This is going to be in every standard sideboard ever.

  • Asdf

    too bad trinket mage is rotating out… I guess it could be nice enough for trading post decks, any other decks that might run it mainboard?

  • oh gee, could of used this way earlier in the format, *cough* delver *cough*