Plasm Capture - Dragon's Maze Spoiler

Plasm Capture



Counter target spell. At the beginning of your next precombat main phase, add X mana in any combination of colors to your mana pool, where X is that spell’s converted mana cost.



  • PeterR

    Smells like fake, why would simic need mana outside of his turn? And in the off chance he gets to use the card in his own it will be 4 mana max from a izzit/dimir counter spell

    • Some Guy

      Not to mention I doubt they would word it as cmc, rather converted mana cost.

  • OdBoX

    A counter spell specifically designed around Sphinx’s Revelation, can anyone else see that?

    • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002553275549 Facebook User

      How’s it designed around Sphinx Rev?

      • OdBoX

        Haven’t you seen the amazing Sphinx casts for 11+ mana if you counter that then you yourself would be getting 11+ mana.
        They don’t gain X life or draw X cards, and you are gaining X+3 mana, which in these colours you could probably spend on your own Sphinx’s Rev

        • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002553275549 Facebook User

          Ah we’ll I just find the fact that u get the mana on your turn a little odd, unless ur in a control mirror

        • Hand of the Praetors

          Sphinx’s rev for 11 would still only grant three mana with this because it is converted mana cost, not what they actually paid. XWUU translates to cmc 3 so three mana.

          • Kilroy

            as a card in your hand, library, or graveyard, Sphinx’s Revelation has a cmc of 3. As a spell on the stack, however, it has a cmc of 3+X. If this is real, its awesomely designed around Sphinx’s Revelation and Rakdos’s Return and Aurelia’s Fury etc. etc. They’re really pushing 3 color here, too, so that color could give you something to do with the mana.

          • Hand of the Praetors

            i highly doubt that’s how it actually works, casting cost changes but converted stays the same.

  • YouGotFranked

    The rule text is weird and this card looks too much like an overcosted, half-assed Mana Drain

    • Xero

      The rules text could just be shorthand. And Wizards has been making overcosted, half-assed cards in the RTR block. I.e. Skull Rend – Blightning, Mind Grind – Mind Funeral, Duskmantle Seer – Dark Confidant. Need I continue?

      • OdBoX

        Blood Scrivener – Dark Confidant is a better analogy as of now

      • ehh

        (the entire ‘grind’ mechanic is new….and duskmantle seer isn’t supposed to be used in any of the same ways that dark confidant is supposed to)

    • Another Random Comment

      Big difference that makes up for the cost, ‘add X mana in any combination of colors’, mana drain was pure colorless. This allows them to pay for the full casting cost of your spell in the next main phase, instead of just part of it or just artifacts.

  • http://www.facebook.com/larry.campagno Larry Campagno

    would be fake, because it does not specify what color mana you add, do you just add X colorless mana??? which would be really useless.

    • http://www.facebook.com/david.k.dean David Kirby Dean

      Yes. You will only add X colorless mana.

      Mana Drain
      Counter target spell. At the beginning of your next main phase, add {X} to your mana pool, where X is that spell’s converted mana cost.

    • Ethan

      How does “in any combinations of colors” not specify enough information?

      • http://www.facebook.com/larry.campagno Larry Campagno

        the card had just recently updated. It originally did not state that.

  • Nefarox

    It seems alot worse than other counters at the moment (assuming the mana produced is colorless) but only time will tell

  • http://www.facebook.com/brandon.sauer.9 Brandon Sauer

    How the hell did this site really think this real enough to post? Honestly.

  • TheCandle

    So it’s an usually worse rewind?

  • Ranuck

    equal to the cmc = FAKE

    • Nefarox

      Nope, it’s a real card, it’s just half the text has been left out. It’s mana in any combination during your next pre-combat main phase.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002553275549 Facebook User

    Maybe they don’t know the exact wording but they know of the spell being spoiled. I’ve rarely seen them spoil during the weekend anyway (only been looking at spoilers since Return so if that’s wrong sorry :] )

    • http://www.facebook.com/larry.campagno Larry Campagno

      no you are right, spoilers very rarely come out on weekend. no idea why honestly, it aggravates me lol

      • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002553275549 Facebook User

        Yea I hope it’s just void slime so we can just move on with our lives and counter everything !

  • Federico

    Here is the true card text:

    counter target spell.

    At the begining of your next precombat main phase, add X mana in any combination to your mana pool, where X is that spell’s converted mana cost.

    • Silver Pumpido

      source? That makes a lot more sense of the text here.

      • http://www.facebook.com/LaserfaceJones William Druetta

        It’s text is almost exactly the same as Mana Drain.

        Counter target spell. At the beginning of your next main phase, add to your mana pool, where X is that spell’s converted mana cost.

        Counter target spell. At the beginning of your next precombat main phase, add X mana in any combination of colors to your mana pool, where X is that spell’s converted mana cost.

        It makes sense already.

    • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002553275549 Facebook User

      Where did u get the info? It sounds pretty legit

  • guy

    real- just need to work out the wording bugs.

  • http://www.facebook.com/ben.grondin Ben Grondin

    It looks like someone heard about the card, and decided to put it up from memory. Could be a real card, but that’s definitely not the real wording for it. I like the idea of the card though!

  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Dan-Vongsa/1839442813 Dan Vongsa

    yes please.

  • Wise

    How will this work when you counter a fuse spell that someone casted both halves of? Do you add up both halves to get the total CMC and that’s how much mana you get on your next main phase or just one half?