• Angry Aardvark

    “you may draw a card”*

    • Jay Kilian

      yes, they are using “may” in most effects now so you always have an option (like if the opponent has an Ob Nixilis emblem out for example)

      • MARPJ

        I think that it has to make easier to judges in competitive when people forget triggers, a “may” trigger is dealt as if you choose not to, a obrigatory trigger could cause various problems (sometimes rewind the game, other times dont) and unnecessary warnings/punishment

  • siktransit

    “Shapers’ Sanctuary”, manacost: G, enchantment. whenever a creature you control becomes the target of a spell or ability your opponent controls, you may draw a card.

  • Deadly Berry

    Best for Illusions tribal, if that’s a thing.

  • Ezuri

    overpowered?

    • Shagoth

      Naw, this is definitely not overpowered.
      Discouraging but not even outright denying someone the privilege isn’t really OP. If it said “your opponent loses the game if they target a creature you control” wouldn’t be format warping, but kind of OP. They just wouldn’t target it.

      • Random Guy

        Removal is quite common though, this is usually a delayed draw two against everything except combo.

        • Shagoth

          It’s strong, but it’s not broken to limit removal. This seems very not broken, just solid. The opponents can chose to give you cards or not either way.

    • Happy The Cat

      Willbreaker didn’t break anything, this probably wont.

      • Jacob Kodicovic

        Then shouldn’t it be called Won’tbreaker?

        • Happy The Cat

          Realistically you Willbreaker at some point, but by then nobody cares. you’d be better of if you just Dismiss into Dream.

  • Shagoth

    Going right into my mana dork elf EDH which relies way too much on creatures that are easy to remove.

  • Bostorket

    “Hey, guys! We found 1/3 of Leovold’s remains out here.”

    • DJ Pad

      Except leovold also draws you acard when YOU are targeted, thereby mostly nullifying cards like thoughtseize, duress, inquisition etc.

      • Alexandre Donnart

        And Leovold is a 3/3. That’s why he said 1/3 of Leovold. Duh ?

        • DJ Pad

          Ok sure, Wouldn’t it have to be a 1/1 creature then? The effects are not the same, hence why it’s a poor comparison…Duh?

          • Bostorket

            Alright, Sparky. I’ll explain the comparison and the joke so you can keep up:

            This card is 1/3 of Leovold’s cost and has close to 1/3 of his ability:

            – Draw when your permanents are targeted

            – Draw when you are targeted

            – Limit opponents’ draws to only 1 per turn.

            Any of those abilities are pretty strong on their own. Getting all three on a 3/3 for BGU is OP as hell. Getting each individually on a 1-drop enchantment would be peachy.

            I omitted being a creature since this one isn’t, though you are technically correct that this only works for creatures and not any permanent.

            The joke also hinged on the art where people are looking through thick forested undergrowth, just like where one dumps/finds a dead body.

            Thank you for your conjecture :3 I hope this helped.

  • xxxx

    This might help building G/W modern Enchantress…

  • Jethro

    I feel like this card is going to be great could be a key piece in standard.

  • thelordelric

    will this trigger on a creature spell that gets countered? or does the creature need to already have materialized on the field?

    • Ograv

      No it will not, because it is not yet a creature at that point.

      • thelordelric

        thanks for the clarification.