Erebos’s Titan - Magic Origins Spoiler

Erebos’s Titan



Buy Commander Legends Booster Box - $129.99

Buy Commander Legends Collector Box - $259.99

Erebos’s Titan is indestructible as long as no opponent controls a creature.

Whenever a creature is removed from the graveyard of an opponent you may discard a card. If you do, return Erebos’s Titan from your graveyard to your hand.



  • MrAptronym

    SO I guess killing everything and exiling graveyards is the way to go? Odd set of abilities.

  • Magicalman

    Crying because I love Erebos

    • Magicalman

      Also, Languish plus this equals good times

  • wwww

    Wo man, that’s above the curve. At least it costs 1BBB and not just 2BB or even 3B.

  • Jazzyboy1

    I guess it’s a 4 mana 5/5, even if it’s abilities are very rarely going to see the light of day.

  • Arthur Sperling

    So do we get a cycle of 1XXX creatures, like this and archangel of tithes??

    • Kaiser

      Not, maybe a cycle of Giant creatures, not shared mana cost.

  • mcpilz

    If you couldve put him onto the battlefield, he wouldve been OK… Seems just like a good limited card but wont see play elsewhere.

  • Kaiser

    Mmm…no impress for the most case BUT IS PERFECT FOR MY MONO BLACK :V YES LOVE YOU WIZARDS *dance*

  • Blake

    I think some of you are missing the fact that it says “removed” from graveyard. This means if you reanimate something from your opponents grave this returns to your hand as well.

  • Zombie

    Seems pretty solid just as a 5/5 for CMC 4 that can occasionally recur itself.

    And, against Control, most of the time it’s going to be Indestructible.

  • Guest

    When Kytheon and his Irregulars fought him, fortunately he wasn’t indestructable. But he can recur himself… could be that he will attack Akros again!

  • Silvoz

    The Translation is wrong. It says leaves not is removed from. so raise dead or reanimate would trigger him, too.

  • William Allen

    *Drops against control*
    Oh look, you cant kill him. Oh, you made me sacrifice him, cool, that was a neat delve spell you just cast.
    *Pops him back to hand*
    I realize you lose a card and he can be exiled, but it stands that he is strong vs control.

    • Stef

      You seem to forget the fact that no control deck currently in Standard plays a lot of creatures. The odds of your opponent delving a creature out of their graveyard is almost non-existent at this point. It would be odd for them to have creatures in their graveyard, but not on the battlefield, don’t you think?
      Your best chance is probably vs. creature heavy decks and just use a board whipe spell (perfect excuse to try out the new Languish) and then crack a Tormod’s Crypt.

  • Vizzerdrix

    I discard life from the loam, a bloodghast, a land while I have life from the loam, honestly I don’t know I could play a four drop in my pox deck but discarding for me doesn’t hurt. For standard any whip deck can discard a creature or even something like bloodsoaked champ

  • Chris

    5/5 for 4mana just isnt what it used to be. Seems like a trap. I think this could have been a solid rare, but at mythic the abilities seem very conditional.

  • kmk888

    It’s going to be decent no matter what, but with the right enablers it could be insane. For example a B/G rock with this and Scavenging Ooze would be super hard to deal with. But the downsides are that it costs a whole BBB of mana specificity and it never will be reliable without the ability to exile the opponent’s graveyards.

    Hard to say how good it is against control- it blanks most removal and boardwipes but is still subject to counterspells and exile. It depends on their specific suite of answers.

    On the subject of “removed from the graveyard’- It could also fight any new reanimator strategies and possibly decks that have the Eldrazi shuffle effect. Less good than one would think against Deathmist Raptor because you have to discard a card and then it just trades with the deathtouch Raptor.

    I sure wish it was a Zombie Giant.

  • Vizzerdrix

    Leyline of the void makes this super playable

    • Chris

      No…it doesnt. Leyline has nothing to do with this card.

      • Vizzerdrix

        no my thought was that leyline wasn’t a replacement effect. my though was you kill their guy it goes into a graveyard and then gets removed so it triggers you discard and get it back. i was also thinking about anafenza but its also a replacement effect

        • Dan Racinowski

          No.. Still doesn’t work and Chris is right. Leyline of the Void still would not trigger it’s ability. It specifically says in the ruling for Leyline that it just removes it from the game and prevents the card from ever REACHING the yard. That being the case, a card is never being removed from your opponents yard, rather just from the game instead. For example, when you Path to Exile something, it doesn’t go to the yard and THEN get exiled. It is exiled and removed from the game right off the battlefield… As is the same case with Leyline of the Void’s effect.

          • He said that he was wrong, you didn’t need to explain what he already said.

          • Vizzerdrix

            Yeah it’s too bad granted doesn’t really help that much either I’d be interested to play it in modern with lots of removal scavenging ooze and discarding vengevines

  • DJ Pad

    It’s no Obliterator, but 5/5s are actually reasonably well positioned against stuff like Tasigur, Rhino etc. Not to mention against control, having him indestructible is pretty good too. I don’t think it will be a chase card, but it might work in a mono black or heavy black aggro deck.

  • dieforsins

    I feel like he’ll be good in Control decks. Remove your opponent creatures non-stop and becomes indestructible. And if your vsing other Control/mid-range/aggro abzan decks he can still pop in your hand from their delve. and he’s clear from the languish(-4/-4) removal. Might see some play in MONO black decks.

  • Sabisent

    Note, being removed from a graveyard does not have to be exile

  • Happy The Cat

    you got me with Phyrexian Obliterator wizards!
    you wont get me again!

  • ThePieandFighter

    Pretty good. Four cost for a 5/5 with upside. 3 blacks in the cost, but can still work, with things like Nykthos, or if your just running Mono-black.