• Edward

    This is so good and will probably see standard play

    • Kevan Kramer

      Seems a bit too slow for standard right now. We have to see if we get better vampire or madness help

      • Edward

        Well vampires already have a ton of support in Standard so they really only need like 1 or 2 more cards to be good

      • De’Elgathor

        A 3-drop 4/4 is too slow?

        • EddieDeanofIgnorance

          It’s only a 3-drop if you discard it to something that doesn’t cost mana with the discard. Which in Standard BR is only going to be Heir of Falkenrath or Ravenous Bloodseeker (barring any new discard engines in Eldritch Moon with CMC 2 or less that we haven’t seen yet). But how reliably can you get those out on turn 2? More often than not it’s still going to be a 4-drop, but with extra benefits (like a 1/1 token with lifelink). Sometimes even a 5-drop.

          • De’Elgathor

            Well, since you can run a total of 8 2-drop free discard guys, and most decks run 60 cards, .13 of your deck can be either of those cards. Multiply by 7 and you have an almost 100% chance of having one in your opening hand. (This is a rough calculation). Since they’re both flexible, any deck having a decent equality of lands should be able to play either one turn two, and follow it with this turn three.
            Alternatively, if you do have to use Call the Bloodline, getting a 4/4 with potential upside and a 1/1 lifelinker for four mana is still great value.

          • EddieDeanofIgnorance

            That’s not how statistical probability works. 13 and a third percent of your deck being the discard engine you want does not yield a 93 and a third percent probability of your opening hand having one of those cards. You actually have closer to a 2 percent chance of having one in your opening hand.

          • De’Elgathor

            No, it doesn’t yield 93.3%. By my math, it’s closer to 98%. You have a 13.3% chance of your first card drawn to be one them, then if it isn’t, your second card has a 13.6% chance of being one. If it wasn’t, your third card has a 13.8% chance of being one. And so on, for 14, 14.3, 14.5, and 14.8. Add those rounded percentages up and you get 98.3%. I’d love to see your math, though.

          • EddieDeanofIgnorance

            …The figuring I did gave me 1.7%…Maybe I did it backwards?

          • De’Elgathor

            Happens to everyone. I had to double check my work to make sure I wasn’t just screwing something up.

          • Robert

            Runnin 4 of any one card gives you a 39.9 changes to have it in your opening hand running 8 doubles it but its not really the same card so your chances of having both cards is 14.98% and Wizards of the Coast but those numbers out a few years ago and has been proven correct multiple times

          • De’Elgathor

            The discussion is about having either, not both, and for the discussion they are basically the same card (a 2-drop 1-color free discard outlet).

          • Hedronal

            On the four mana path, there’s also Lightning Axe.

          • CharmingTuber

            Oh hey look, they spoiled Stromkirk Condemned, a CMC 2 0-cost discard engine.

          • EddieDeanofIgnorance

            Oh hey look, someone who apparently had clairvoyance abilities and thinks it appropriate to rub it in other peoples’ faces.

  • TogetherAlone

    Turn four you can easily dump this out of your hand as a 5/5 haste with olivia and get rid of the last card dealing an immediate 4 damage and 5 more in combat.

    • EddieDeanofIgnorance

      Watch out: it’s an intervening if clause. If you have a card in hand when it enters the battlefield it won’t trigger at all, even if something else causes you to discard because it hit the ‘field.

      • TogetherAlone

        So you can not just stack the triggers so that olivia’s goes off first and then you actually do have an empty hand?

        • EddieDeanofIgnorance

          603.4. A triggered ability may read “When/Whenever/At [trigger event], if [condition], [effect].” When
          the trigger event occurs, the ability checks whether the stated condition is true. The ability triggers
          only if it is; otherwise it does nothing. If the ability triggers, it checks the stated condition again as it
          resolves. If the condition isn’t true at that time, the ability is removed from the stack and does
          nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets. This rule is referred to as the “intervening
          ‘if’ clause” rule. (The word “if” has only its normal English meaning anywhere else in the text of a
          card; this rule only applies to an “if” that immediately follows a trigger condition.)

          So no, you can’t just stack them. Because if you have a card in hand, Bloodpriest’s ability doesn’t even trigger.
          It’s not that bad, though. You’re dealing 7 damage with it instead of 9.

          • Bige Boiy

            at least it can shock on attack in that case.

  • larryand corn

    YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS MADNESS FTW PEOPLE

  • wwww

    Hellbent!

  • Kahai

    Just what i wanted. A big BR madness creature. The hellbent trigger is just a sugary coating of hate… I mean love. :3

  • Nanya

    Dang it, now I need something ELSE to take out of my (original) Olivia EDH deck for this!

    • Hedronal

      Are you out of cards in hand that much in that? If not, why would you want this more in commander than existing options?

      • Nanya

        It’s Vampire Tribal, I like to experiment with cards to see what fits best.

        • Hedronal

          If this works well enough for that, please post somewhere about it, as I’d like to see how.

          • Nanya

            If it does, hooray.

            If not, sad face.

            I hope it does work. I recently took Pulse Tracker out of my deck.

  • ashton

    not much of a bomb for edh is she…. oh well lets murder some standard players with it!

  • kmk888

    Seems like the critical density of madness cards for the rock solid enablers like Lighning Axe and Heir of Falkenrath to finally pay off. And it’s large enough that it doesn’t get brickwalled by a Thraben Inspector with a +1/+1 counter or Sylvan Advocate or the like. I like this one a lot. Plus the hellbent trigger is rock solid, if it can’t kill a creature it’s going upstairs. This may finally be what vampires needed to compete in Standard.

  • Winter Trabex

    Vampires need one more madness/hellbent beneficiary like this one in order to be competitive. This card is excellent. It just seems like vampires won’t win if she doesn’t show up.

  • Julna Buras

    Well, Stromkirk Condemned makes this a reliable 3-drop now.