Gnarled Scarhide - Journey into Nyx Spoiler

Gnarled Scarhide


  • Color: Black
  • Type: Enchantment Creature - Minotaur
  • Rarity: Uncommon
  • Set:

Buy from Card Kingdom - $ 0.25

Buy Zendikar Rising Booster Box - $99.99

Buy Zendikar Rising Collector Box - $249.99

Bestow 1 ManaRed Mana

Gnarled Scarhide can’t block.

Enchanted creature gets +2/+1 and can’t block.



  • Montague

    Finally they print it…

    Also, Mono-black aggro after rotation looks sweet… if they print another 2-drop haste-er that is. Or maybe everyone will finally run Not-bob.

  • dinner

    Perfect replacement for mutavault in mono black aggro

  • Whiskerbro

    I might make a monoblack aggro with this, Pain Seer, and Tormented Hero.
    Just wish the bestow was cheaper.

  • GreatCrow

    I find it humorous that this guy can be free to cost if Ragemonger is out. Too bad he cant lower the bestow cost

    • Kevin Shugg

      I don’t see why not… Correct me if I’m wrong, but I take “Minotaur” to be part of its spell type, even when casting it as an aura, and since Ragemonger reduces the cost of Minotaur spells…

      • James Quinton Hicks II

        Makes sense. The bestow rules text doesn’t say anything about it loosing it’s Minotaur status. Either way, I’m taking Rakdos Cackler out for this guy in my Minotaur deck.

    • Ossifrage

      “You apply cost reduction effects after other cost modifiers, so Ragemonger can reduce additional costs or alternative costs of Minotaur spells if they include {B} and/or {R}.” – Official Rulings
      So it does reduce the bestow cost.

    • Zombie

      The only thing that Bestow does is change it from a Creature to an Aura. It’s still a Minotuar.

      Ragemonger will make this card’s Bestow cost 3.

      • Jimmy

        This question has been answered on several forums for other cards.

        When cast for its bestow cost, Gnarled Scarhide will become an Enchantment – Aura and not be a Minotaur. A non-Creature can never have creature subtypes (unless it’s Tribal).

        205.1a … If an object’s card type is removed, the subtypes correlated with that card type will remain if they are also the subtypes of a card type the object currently has; otherwise, they are also removed for the entire time the object’s card type is removed….

  • DA

    ENCHANT AN OPPONENT’S DEFENDER! How weird would it be? just a minatuar spirit ghost almost haunting a wall…

  • poop licker

    aggressive 1 drop with an option to bestow. I like it. :)

  • Minotaur Lord

    Finally! The 1 drop minotaur everyone’s been waiting for. With this, Rakdos Minotaurs will rule the metegame!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Nemo

    Oh man, I absolutely love the art on this thing. The color composition is just about perfect. Also, yay Minotaur 1-drop.