• Oru5732

    Dark Depths

    • TogetherAlone

      oh snap

    • name moniker

      would mirage mirror proc the no counter effect first (sacrificing the mirage mirror and summoning marit lage while still leaving you with the original dark depths) or would the legend rule proc first (leaving you with either only your original dark depths or with only a marit lage)?

      • Christian Eduardo Munoz

        you need to sac to the legendary part first unfortunaly. so “just” a 20/20. :P
        but still its thespian stage 5-8 :P

        • DJ Pad

          or more like Thespian stage/vampire hexmage 9-12

  • Dr. Burn Crow

    I shall abuse this.

  • NobleGhost117

    Too bad Marvel was banned.
    Turn 3: Play Mirage Mirror.
    Enemy’s Turn 4: Marvel into Ulamog
    Turn 4: Copy Ulamog and swing in; mills 20 cards; bounces Ulamog to hand/exiles with Dec. in Stone

    • LSTPcobra

      And so why would they not exile your MM with their Ulamog?

      • NobleGhost117

        Just because it isn’t practical doesn’t mean it isn’t fun to think about.

  • Random Person

    What happens if you copy an Elusive Tormentor then activate its new flip ability

    • Jonathan Reynolds

      Nothing. It can’t transform because it’s not a double-faced card.

      701.25a Only permanents represented by double-faced cards can transform. (See rule 711, “Double- Faced Cards.”) If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform any permanent that isn’t represented by a double-faced card, nothing happens.

      • Random Person

        Do you know what would happen if you copied a card that had a permanent copy ability then used that?

        • Hedronal

          Copies of double faced cards only get whichever face is up at the time.

    • Random Guy

      Oh, hey, it’s me! Hi me!

  • Random Guy

    This is very pushed, but also very fun.

  • TheAweDude

    Note that it does not say you have to control the card being copied.

  • Marc Tremblay

    I will gladly draft this with pride sovereign , thank you

  • kmk888

    Another card to combo with Dark Depths, although I think that the Turbo Depths deck is pretty saturated between Hexmage and Thespian’s Stage, and there isn’t an existing other deck that wants it.

    Standard Metalwork Colossus, on the other hand, now has even more 10/10s.

    • TogetherAlone

      or better yet glory bringers etc. Wait Does anything funny happen if you copy a gideon?

      • You kill Gideon or this.

      • Umbacano

        Yes but funny for your opponent since it dies for having zero loyalty…

    • Shagoth

      Well, this has a minor bonus over the other options in Dark Depths; This doesn’t die to main deck removal like Fatal Push and Wasteland in legacy like Hexmage and the lands.

  • Maui Amaru

    How does this interact with ETB effects?

    • kmk888

      Doesn’t get them. Makes it unusable with good ETB effects and very powerful if the ETB effect is a disadvantage.

      • galen150

        So instead of the shotty etb effect, you have to pay 2 mana, each turn. That’s still pretty bad. This would likely see play in a control deck if it sees any play at all. Copy an attacker so it flings itself into a mirror image of its self

        • Daniel Kaine Allen

          According to Maro, this card is intended for edh, not really anything else, although it could be good in limited.

        • Happy The Cat

          I mean cards that enter with -1/-1 counters, Dark Depths, stuff that an opponent controls, duplicate an on board effect you want more than once like nest of scarabs or a lord, copy a vehicle and have this pilot it. you can also turn into stuff like Unruly Mob and build up counters, then transform into bigger creatures. it’s got a lot of uses if you just take the time to think.

  • TogetherAlone

    This is very good with all the -1/-1 ETB effects in green and black from Amonkhet. Also could this go with Aetherflux reservoir as a way to get a bunch more triggers to get the life to end the game?

    • galen150

      I see no way this effects aether flux reservoir since that is a cast trigger. Unless you want to copy something that enables more cards to be cast and recast

      • Daniel Kaine Allen

        I believe he’s saying turn it into a reservoir, but then you might as well just put a reservoir in that slot instead.

        • Aurore

          But why play 4 when you can play 8?

          • Daniel Kaine Allen

            Becauae there are easier and more efficient ways to gain enough life for that purpose.

  • Elderly

    This with time vault is funny

    • Jackson Means

      Yes, awesome combo, bravo!

  • Davey Desjarlais

    More reason for me to dust off my attempt to play UB Tezz in Standard

  • Shagoth

    This feels rediculously flexible, almost like a colorless Clever impersonator.
    Though I can’t imagine very often where you’d pay two to copy a land.
    Aside from Dark Depths, of course.

    • Ruphus

      Or Gaea’s Cradle, Strip Mine, Maze of Ith, Cabal Coffers, etc etc

      • Shagoth

        You can’t reliably combo those with your own cards too often. Gaea’s Cradle really only works if your opponent has it, Strip mine and similar cards have you sacrifice a three mana artifact at the cost of an additional two to destroy a land, maze of it is okay, but like land destroyers, it’s copying something broken to become fair, but Cabal Coffers is actually pretty decent, but only in the late game of commander.

    • karathb

      you can copy a land to fizzle a removal for example

  • Nebulium

    Probably too expensive for most constructed formats outside of janky combos (which I love) but just great for edh. Basically with 2 mana open you have access to practically everything on the board. If that’s not powerful, then I don’t know what is.

    • Tolle

      You phrased that like EDH isn’t a constructed format…

      • Nebulium

        I didn’t feel like typing out “standard, modern, legacy and vintage”

        • name moniker

          and pauper and two headed giant and 1v1 comander and 100 card singleton and penny commander and archenemy and planescape to name a few

          • Friedrich

            This does not go in pauper, it will probably not be in penny commander either. Just saying, if you want to be correct, at least be correct.

        • Tolle

          Try “competitive” next time.

          • Nebulium

            Dude, I just wanted to comment on the cards viability in commander and the first thing you jump on is me using slightly incorrect jargon? Also have you met some people that play commander?

          • Tolle

            A. Yes I have met many people who play commander. What does that have to do with anything.
            B. Because there are better ways of expressing yourself without erasing commander players, which is a thing non-commander players do a lot.

          • Nebulium

            I’m saying plenty of people play commander that play competitively so you could call it competitive constructed. Also I only play commander and we have gotten into the habit of just calling standard, vintage, etc “constructed.” So I concede defeat. You are correct, I am wrong. I am going to go by talk about actual cards now because this is not enjoyable.

        • Hedronal

          Maybe “60-card constructed”

  • Murilo Mazza

    I want to copy opponent’s Thing in the Ice w/ 4 counters and Anticipate anytime.

    • Dave

      But that doesn’t do anything since the copy is no double-faced card.

  • Armando Lolo

    Dark Depths !

    • Derek Niles

      correct, legacy lands getting better by the day

  • Oscar

    This will be so much fun in EDH. You can pretty much dump all your mana into this and enjoy some sweet madness oozing out of it. It even counters most removal spells because you can turn this into a land.

    • Armando Lolo

      I guess it loosing the ability until the end of turn too

      • salyne

        yeah, it’ll become an exact copy of something, so unless that thing has a similar ability it wont be able to change again till the end of the turn

        • Happy The Cat

          actually, unless that thing is this thing it wont change again, it has to be named Mirage Mirror still for it to transform, as it’s this ability being put on the stack.

          • Oscar

            Oops, you’re all right. My bad, didn’t thought this through.

            Yeah, I guess shenanigans with this copying multiple things in one turn is only possible on the stack.

  • Jacob Hennessy

    So I can use this with Pride Sovereign to have even more cats…neat!

    • Jay Kilian

      It will be quite strong with exert creatures. All of the upside and no downside except paying 2. Glorybringer, pride, etc

  • Scott Fridinger

    I tap, upkeep, copy Howling Mines, get extra card, go…

    • Scott Fridinger

      Untap

  • Guest

    Is that Neheb, the Worthy being reflected as Neheb, the Eternal?

    • Gregory Walter

      Yessir, I believe it is.

    • Kahai

      I noticed this last night before going to bed. I should have posted it first! XD

    • Happy The Cat

      the flavor text basically says “one day you will drop black, become a zombie and lose your tribal effects for something actually cool”

  • Blahblahblahbla

    This card is downright busted in EDH.. Cant wait to see all the complicated 3+ card combos with this thing. :p

    • isigo

      me too.
      i dont know but IF the leaks about commander 2017 are correct dragons with this would go …
      but not only that each commander deck would go insane. new commander staple

  • Frankthetank

    how does this card interact with Angel of Condemnation? So the mirror becomes a copy of the angel, then it is used to exile (by exerting) a creature. Then at the end of turn the mirror becomes the artifact again. so:
    1. is the creature exiled forever?
    2. is the mirror exerted?
    Thanks

    • Landon Martin

      That is quite the question

    • NCY

      No. The ability on AoC refers to the object, so the creature will still come back when the mirror leaves the battlefield, regardless of weather the mirror is a copy of AoC at the time.
      Yes, the mirror is exerted.

  • Desterious

    Thats meld I think you’re thinking of. I don’t believe transform exiles.

  • Friedrich

    I think after the first ability, it looses its initial ability.

  • MrAptronym

    You should be able to chain copy things yes, and then respond to those as they resolve, yes. (Including with this card’s own new abilities gained a copy if applicable) This thing is a bit of a nightmare rules wise against new players.

  • Diego Martins

    I’m not sure that this works, because the ability is worded “Mirage Mirror becomes a copy of target…”. After the first activation resolves the card is no longer “Mirage Mirror” until the end of the turn, so wouldn’t the other triggers fail?

  • Scott Fridinger

    Hold priority, before the ability happens, pay 2 do again. Rinse, repeat…

  • Diego Martins

    I got that. We can certainly put multiples instances of the ability onto the stack by holding priority. My question is: after the first one resolves, the permanent is no longer named “Mirage Mirror” until EOT, so will the extra activations work?

  • Scott Fridinger

    Good point.

  • Hedronal

    Yes, the name is just used to refer to “this card” so it works.

  • Hedronal

    You could even target itself with its own ability in chain, in case there might be something you want it to become later in the turn.

  • Hedronal

    It can, but only does on the origins walkers.