• Fancyfox

    infinite turns with medomai

    • Jazzyboy1

      Nah, because Medomai can’t attack during extra turns, full stop. It doesn’t just track whether he’s attacked recently. He just can’t attack during any extra turns.

      • You copy the Medomai with the attack trigger, you don’t attack with the actual Medomai.

        • Jazzyboy1

          The copied Medomai still can’t attack during the extra turn, so that’s irrelevant. Regardless of whether it’s the same object, a different object or he’s turned into a magic rainbow; he straight up can’t attack during any extra turns, regardless of what effect created them. So you can’t get infinite turns with this and Medomai.

          E: Ooohhh… I’m being an idiot. Okay yeah, this does work. Sorry.

          • It can attack. When you declare it as an attacker it isn’t Medomai.

          • Jazzyboy1

            Oh wait, sorry. I started to think that this might work, but actually it still won’t but for a completely different reason than I was thinking of.

            Medomai’s legendary. He returns at the beginning of the end step. This card’s ability has it remain a copy ‘until end of turn’. According to the rules, ‘until end of turn’ effects happen during the cleanup phase, which occurs after the end step. So the original Medomai will return before this card reverts back to it’s original form. Since priority is passed during the end step, state-based actions will be checked, which includes the legendary rule. Therefore, you will be forced to sacrifice either this card or Medomai during your end step.

            So this combo will only work if you also have a way to reanimate Medomai every turn.

          • Well, you could also have Mirror Gallery. Or it could be your opponents Medomai :)

          • Jazzyboy1

            Hahah yeah, copying your opponent’s Medomai would work xD

            So we could create a super-powerful combo deck that just happens to only work against certain opponents, because no others are worthy :P

            E: Or you could use it in 2HG matches, and have your teammate always run Medomai.

          • Yeah, what’s wrong with decks that only work against the people you play against at FNM, given that they don’t ever change decks?

          • Robert FakeLastName

            well, if brago is thrown in there you can stack both triggers so you get an extra turn and blink him to reset his legendary status

          • Hedronal

            I feel compelled to compliment you on the simple elegance of that post.

    • Zombie

      Medomai is not allowed to attack during any extra turns. That includes copies.

      • Supplanter of Identity doesn’t become a copy until it is declared an attacker, getting around the restriction. The problem is the legend rule.

  • Jazzyboy1

    You could get infinite extra turns with this, Torpor Orb and Wormfang Manta. That’s a cool combo if ever I’ve seen one.

  • Happy The Cat

    mmm… flicker and clones, the fun side of blue.

  • Jazzyboy1

    Hmm, so this card actually won’t work well with legendaries, because afaik after checking the rules, the original legendary that this copies will return before this reverts back. So this will be a copy of the legendary while the legendary is on the field. So if you copy a legendary with this, you’ll have to sacrifice either this or that legendary at the end of the turn.

    • Vizzerdrix

      It works just fine it would exile check the last state become the creature which is now exiled won’t see another one, then end of turn it stops copying the creature returns looks for it’s self and finds nothing so temur Atarka can be a playable deck

      • That Guy

        The way you described it only is true for the first part. The end step happens before “until end of turn” effects wear off so the returned creature will briefly be in play at the same time this is still a copy i believe.

        • Vizzerdrix

          When it checks though it won’t see itself but yes for a split second they’ll both be out

      • Jazzyboy1

        ‘That Guy’ summed it up, but here are all of the relevant rulings incase you’re skeptical:

        “512. Ending Phase
        512.1. The ending phase consists of two steps: end and cleanup”

        “513. End Step
        513.1. First, all abilities that trigger “at the beginning of the end step” or “at the beginning of the next end step” go on the stack. (See rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”)”
        “513.2. Second, the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities.”

        “704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, “Timing and Priority”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions”
        “704.5k
        If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.””

        “514. Cleanup Step”
        “514.2. Second, the following actions happen simultaneously: all damage marked on permanents (including phased-out permanents) is removed and all “until end of turn” and “this turn” effects end. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.”

        The cleanup step happens after the end step, so the ‘at the beginning of the next end step’ trigger will go off during the end step, before Supplanter’s ‘until end of turn’ effect expires in the cleanup step. Because a player gets priority during the end step, state-based actions are checked, which includes the legend rule. Therefore, you’re forced to sacrifice one of the legends during the end step, before Supplanter stops being a copy of the legend.

        • Jazzyboy1

          Oh and to add:

          “116.4. If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves or, if the stack is empty, the phase or step ends.”

          “116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.”

          So yep, this card hates legends /:

          • Vizzerdrix

            Yes I miss read the card I thought the switch back and the returning where simultaneous where it would see and itself and when it was checked all ready have switched back

          • Jazzyboy1

            It’s fair enough for you to not know the exact rulings on this. I wasn’t completely certain until I looked it up.(though I had a rough idea because I’ve read the rules before a while ago)

            And it’s a rather complex set of rules. Most players will probably get into big arguments over this card and legendaries, because I did just cite 4 different sections of the comprehensive rules just to prove my point. This is just another instance of MTG’s rules being too convoluted /:

  • MTG fan

    This seems rather weak as it is 0/3; however, being able to become any creature on offense is excellent, and it can flicker spirits. I’ll probably get one for my friend and myself.
    Edit: If your opponent controls only one strong creature, this would an amazing finisher. Blue, why?!
    Edit: any non-token creature. Sorry!

    • Zombie

      “This seems rather weak as it is 0/3”

      You say that like it’s going to stay a 0/3, or even live to clone something.

      Being 0/3 isn’t what makes this card bad. What makes this bad is that, unless you give it Haste, it’s not copying anything until your next turn.

      That makes it extremely easy to kill/deal with for a 4-drop.

      I can’t even imagine this hitting Highlander/EDH. Even the regular Clone is just better.

      • MTG fan

        The fact that it doesn’t permanently stay as the exiled creature is bad as it can die by burn spells easily. Defense is just as important as offense in this game, as combat tricks can be devastating; for example, Make a Stand or Strength in Arms.

  • ye

    Using this on an opponent’s bit threat each turn is just evil.

    • Hedronal

      If that stopped them from attacking with it maybe.

  • Chaospyke

    And blue white needed another way to flicker reflector mage in U/W

    Ooo I’m cant wait to make me and stupid midrange with this in standard

  • Bige Boiy

    good at eating tokens if you can protect it. probably not first pick at any point in the draft.

    • Adri Díez

      literally says “non-token creature”.

      • Bige Boiy

        oh yeah you’re right
        doesn’t seem good for much of anything then

        • Bige Boiy

          maybe a green blue deck with fatties and blink interactions? i don’t think the versatility justifies the body for mana cost over cards that do blink or fatty on their own.

  • Stinker289

    I love this card so much.

  • Melissa Juice

    Brilliant little card.

  • Jonathan Mueller

    Seems pretty weak for 2UU.
    Especially since he’ll be a fragile 0/3 until you get to attack.

    He’s neither quite a clone, nor a flicker enabler.

    You need to find a target that you want to attack with, preferably on your opponent’s side, or one on your side that has a good etb-trigger.
    Either way, paying four mana and waiting a turn seems hardly worth it.

    I wish they would have made him bolt-proof at least.

  • Dan Langevin

    Identity Thief.

  • Derek Niles

    cool card but 4 mana? Wish it was better cuz I love clones

  • Robert FakeLastName

    Potential abuse detected. Blink all the things!!!!!!!

    • Graymalkin86

      Not quite so abusable, given that it’s an attack trigger, not an ETB trigger.

      • Robert FakeLastName

        it is inherently more abusable because it is an attack trigger. I can attack multiple times but once it enters it stays there. However, if other cards are factored in then the abuse has more synergy if it was etb.

  • graymalkin86

    Sundial of the Infinite.

    Just activate the dial with the return trigger on the stack, and Abracadabra!

    • Happy The Cat

      you’ve now exiled whatever you targeted until the end of the next turn, this stops being a clone after you used the dial

      • David Meyers

        Gray’s on to something. Sundial allowed you to keep a Traft angel after combat permanently. Your clone will still revert to normal, but the exiled creature will stay gone. You can use this on a huge enemy creature and effectively kill it.

        • Happy The Cat

          the way Taft’s token works is that at the end of the combat it was made, this however exiles until the beginning of the next end step, meaning that whenever the next end step starts. this is just wording exploitation, people have been doing it forever, my favorite is Possessed Portal and effects that change how you draw

          • David Meyers

            I don’t get what you’re saying. When you reach your end step naturally, return trigger goes on stack. In response, use sundial to override the trigger effect. Sundial always gets used when the desired trigger is on the stack.

          • Happy The Cat

            then your turn ends, once you get to the end of the NEXT turn the exiled creature will come back into play

          • David Meyers

            No, it would be the end of your turn. The next end step is YOUR end step the turn you attacked. You don’t keep your opponent’s creature out of play during their next whole turn. That’s why the discussion in threads above show that the legendary rule kinda sucks if you clone your own legend. Your exiled legend comes back and sees the clone still a copy of itself.
            The trigger to make it a copy has already resolved before your end step comes around. This means YOUR end step is the “next end step”

    • Nharzhool

      Unfortunately you can’t use that to get around this. Once the exiled creature returns, and priority passes, the State-based action will cause you to sac one of them, to which you can do nothing in response.

      What you need is an Isochron Scepter with Cloudshift under it. In response to the return trigger, you Cloudshift the Supplanter. This will work.

  • mycmyc

    what happens if a legend was copied?

    • Jazzyboy1

      See my posts below. I cited all the relevant rulings.

      Tldr; If you copy a legend, you have to sacrifice either it or Supplanter in your end step when the original legend returns.

  • Robert FakeLastName

    legends this can copy effectively are brago, sheoldred, and reya. Not sure if other legends get around that detail quite so effectively.

  • Deadly Berry

    I suppose the best thing this can copy is a Titan, having ETB trigger as well as an attack one (Your Titan). Sadly it won’t ever see play in standard, as it’s useless vs mirror, vs aggro and just barely usable vs mid-range. Its flaws are the cost, the 0/3 and the fact it’s required to attack to activate, so it’s good until turn 5 if you decided to tap yourself on turn 4, something control should never do.

    Might see play in EDH, other than that… do not want.

    • Guest

      Wouldn’t this miss the attack trigger on a copied titan as the titan triggers when you declare it as an attack and this wouldn’t become a titan until it had already been declared an attacker? You would get a second titan trigger as you’d trigger of the titan coming back into play at end of turn, but I’m pretty certain you don’t get the attack trigger.

      • Jazzyboy1

        Pretty sure that’s what he meant. You get the trigger from attacking with the original Titan. You then exile that Titan. Then at the end of the turn, you get another trigger when the Titan returns.

        • Guest

          Ahh that makes sense. I thought he was playing the titan that turn, attacking with the cloner, exiling the titan, hoping to get the titan trigger of it, and then getting the titan back. Essentially hoping for 3 titan triggers in a turn

        • Deadly Berry

          Yea I meant that, my mistake for not making it clear.

  • Gord

    This might be interesting with +1/+1 counters – strictly commander and limited applications (at this point anyway)

    • Nharzhool

      This is one of those creatures that I hope I never have to play against with my Marath deck…blink, and Marath dies. Will need to waste 3 mana to burn it. Ugh…

      • Graymalkin86

        Swiftfoot Boots or Basilisk Collar will solve yer problems, mate. Either they cant touch Marath, or Marath can bad touch them.

  • Happy The Cat

    it’s like Conjurer’s Closet, but more finicky, stops the targeted creature from attacking, can’t exploit legendaries and also fears any source of three damage.
    does have the ablity to blink nontoken blockers however which could do something in a bant aggro mirror at some point, don’t really think it’s worth the sideboard slot. what will be great is when they finally make an illusion version of this that costs 1u and makes this already obsolete rare drop from $0.50 to the point that you keep your foil russian copies in your un/common foil box. you know, like they did to clone.

    • JakX

      Quick note I think you can abuse legendaries with this, for sure if they are your opponents. As they both occur at end of turn, so I’m not 100% but I think he stops being the creature when it comes back in so they never meet themselves so to speak.

      • Happy The Cat

        you can only exploit your opponents legendaries, the creature will come back into play while this is still a copy. If that happens legend rule triggers.

  • Heironymous Pantaloon

    Travis Woo is working out how to break this card in legacy to kill on turn -3 by creating a wormhole through time AND delivering a 20+ attack with a Michael Jordan Rookie Card.

    Id pre order these quick.

    • ye

      It works 12teen times better with the Pumpsie Green Holographic baseball card. The market on that puppy will quickly dictate how many scrubs can form competitive decks.

  • Nharzhool

    Man…this thing hates on so many Hydras. That’s an awfully nice 36/36 Primordial Hydra you’ve got there…NOT ANYMORE! Look at me, I am the Hydra now.

    • UltimaHelz

      It doesn’t get the counters.

  • xSiNx SHADOW

    so just copy brisela every turn that it transforms? got it

  • Bostorket

    “Give me back my credit rating!

    … also, my body! But seriously, was gonna lease a new carriage.”

  • Blank88

    “How’s Annie?”

    • Jaime Hubster

      She’s okay.

  • Phoenix UNBENCHED

    Um, sir, you see, you made the common mistake of overlooking the Golden Rule of Magic: “Dies to doom blade, therefore 0/10”
    Kappa

  • Happy The Cat

    ikr, like red will get a bolt. HA! only if it cost at least 3 mana!